It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes over 7,000 albums from the a variety of labels, including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the Middle Ages to the present, including many contemporary composers.
Music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America's past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Labels include Rounder Records, Appleseed Recordings, Stax, Specialty Records, Testament Records, McNeil Music, Native Ground Music, Rebel Records, County Records, Smithsonian Folkways, Document Records, and more.
As of June, 2009, all the music from the former African American Music collection (no longer offered) is now here in American Song. The music of all Americans, including African Americans, is now consolidated in the expanded American Song.
Includes the catalog of the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label as well as the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, and Paredon labels, among others.
This guide covers the resources and collections related to the study of music at the University of Pennsylvania. See also this very helpful guide to Graduate Student Services in Penn Libraries.
Background sources give you a broad overview of a topic and suggest possible ways to refine a topic. They also include bibliographies for further reading that can be valuable as you build a bibliography of sources to read and consult during your research.
Contains the holdings of hundreds of libraries in the United States, Europe, and Austrailia. This is a good source to find books on your topic that aren't held by Penn. You can then request them through BorrowDirect+ or Interlibrary Loan.
An online archive of music journalism, sourced from freelance contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. The articles are full text and searchable, and all are reproduced with the permission of the copyright holders.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
The Musical Fund Society (of Philadelphia) is the oldest music organization in the United States that still continues to this day. Founded in 1820, the Society celebrates its bicentennial in 2020 with an exhibit at the University of Pennsylvania.
This exhibition features a set of four reed-flute instruments brought from Egypt during the nineteenth century—Neys—along with contemporary research on new organology and music history. The multimodal exhibit also includes a musical performance, a media display, and a downloadable syllabus.