Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Sources of information
Finding Africa in the Penn Libraries
Just in case you didn't read it under "Overview", here's another opportunity.
Health and Society in Africa (Penn Libraries research guide)
his guide identifies resources useful for beginning and conducting research on social aspects of health among African societies. It identifies major reference works in print and electronic formats and provides guidance for beginning the research process.
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources (Stanford University Libraries)
Stanford's web link lists are a great place to troll the web for African sites. Browse the country pages and consult the subject pages on "Health" and "Development".
The Dictionary of Health Economics (2nd ed., 2010)
Try using "Search Document" for your country's name or for a disease or health condition or other health topic. Intended to be used by the reader in a hurry seeking a quick summary of a topic or a reminder. Most brief articles include a bibliographic citation or two for classic or representative studies. A helpful section, "100 Economic Studies of Health Interventions", gives additional citations.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. This encyclopedia covers all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Public Health
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia