It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Health Communication by Teresa (Teri) L. Thompson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Covers the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application. Features: Nearly 600 original articles organized A-to-Z within a three-volume set. Includes such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. Appendices include a Resource Guide with annotated lists of classic books and articles, journals, associations, and web sites; a Glossary of specialized terms; and a Chronology offering an overview and history of the field.
This volume presents state-of-the-art reporting on how to measure many of the key variables in health communication. While the focus is on quantitative measures, the editors argue that these measures are centrally important to the study of health communication.
v. 1. Health communication in the delivery of health care v. 2. Health communication and health promotion v. 3. Health risk communication v. 4. Health communication and new information technologies (eHealth) v. 5. Health communication and the health care system.
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases.
Book explains why attempts at mass persuasion often fail so badly. Author argues that well-designed campaigns undergo "cultural entropy": the process through which the intended meanings and uses of cultural objects fracture into alternative meanings, new practices, failed interactions, and blatant disregard. Using AIDS media campaigns in Accra, Ghana, as its central case study, the book walks readers through best-practice, evidence-based media campaigns that fall totally flat.
Examines complexities and contingencies of communication in health settings using systems theory. The reader will gain greater familiarity with how health institutions function communicatively, and why the people who work in health professions interact as they do. The text provides multiple opportunities to analyze communication occurring in health organizations and to apply communication skills to personal experiences. This knowledge may improve communication between patients, employees, or consumers.
Third edition. Teaches students to effectively communicate health education messages and positively influence the norms and behaviors of both individuals and communities. This text explores the methods used by health educators, including didactic techniques designed to guide others toward the pursuit of a healthy lifestyle.
Scholars of cinema studies, philosophy, English, sociology, health-care education, women's studies, bioethics, and other fields demonstrate how the world of medicine engages and permeates the media that surround us. Whether examining the press coverage of the Jack Kevorkian-euthanasia controversy; pondering questions about accessibility, accountability, and professionalism raised by such films as Awakenings, The Doctor, and Lorenzo's Oil; analyzing the depiction of doctors, patients, and medicine on E.R. and Chicago Hope; or considering the ways in which digital technologies have redefined the medical body, these essays are consistently illuminating and provocative.
Delves into the use of interactive communication applications to promote health behavior change. Providing a timely and comprehensive review of current tools for health communication, eHealth Applications is a must-read for scholars, students and researchers in health communication, public health, and health education.
Provides the theoretical, methodological, and praxis-driven issues in research on interpretive, critical, and cultural approaches to health communication. It includes an international collection of contributors, and highlights non-traditional (non-Western) perspectives on health communication.
Featuring a full chapter on informatics, this book is devoted to the competencies in health communication and informatics recommended by the Association of Schools of Public Health. With chapter contributions from some of the leading experts in public health informatics and epidemiology, health communication and evaluation, Essentials of Public Health Communications introduces concepts and examples that will prepare students to enter a local health department, community organization or government agency, and contribute to health communication research, patient counseling, materials design, program management and media relations.
Resources for teaching and learning are posted at tinyurl.com/Glanz4e and www.med.upenn.edu/hbhe4. Fourth edition of this classic book, provides a comprehensive, highly accessible, and in-depth analysis of health behavior theories that are most relevant to health education.
The authors advance the notion of 'biomediatization' and demonstrate how health knowledge is co-produced through connections between dispersed sites and forms of expertise. The chapters offer an innovative combination of media content analysis and ethnographic data on the production and circulation of health news, drawing on work with journalists, clinicians, health officials, medical researchers, marketers, and audiences.
Addresses the full range of methodological and conceptual issues involved in content analysis research, specifically focused on public health-related messages and behaviors. Coverage includes: Conceptual and methodological foundations involved in the practice of content analysis research used to examine public health issues. Measurement challenges posed by the broad range of media. Use of content analysis across multiple media types.
Offers specific patient communication for advanced practice nurses. Role-plays for different clinical situations, with varying patient populations provide a bridge for implementing communication strategies in the clinical setting. Each chapter gives a brief synopsis of current communication theories that relate to the topic and which drive communication strategies with patients.
Revision of the original Making Health Communication Programs Work, first printed in 1989, which the Office of Cancer Communications (OCC, now the Office of Communications) of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) developed to guide communication program planning. During the 25 years that NCI has been involved in health communication, ongoing evaluation of our communication programs has affirmed the value of using specific communication strategies to promote health and prevent disease.
This volume argues the case that public health communication has affected health behavior. It brings together 16 studies of large-scale communication in a variety of substantive health areas--tobacco, drugs, AIDS, family planning, heart disease, childhood disease, highway safety--prepared by the authors who did the original research. Including studies based on communication programs in the United States, as well as projects done elsewhere in the world, including Europe, Africa, Asia and Latin America. As such, it is required reading for scholars, students, practitioners, and policymakers in public health, health communication, health psychology, and related areas.
This volume provides an essential roster of primary research methods as they apply to health communication inquiry bringing together key health communication researchers to write about their primary methodological areas.
Examines how social marketing is used as a strategy for changing health behavior in the world today. Each chapter focuses on one selected country, making the content very accessible. The text provides an in-depth and up-to-date treatment of the subject matter.
Looks at the challenges of delivering important messages to different audiences. Using case studies in the areas of diabetes, mammography, and mass communication campaigns, it examines the ways in which messages must be adapted to the unique informational needs of their audiences if they are to have any real impact.
This is the first textbook of its kind to offer students an introduction to best practices for using technology in health promotion programs. Integrating detailed case studies and interactive skill-building exercises throughout, this succinct and practical text teaches students to identify the most appropriate technology to meet their goals.