Health Communication: Datasets

CDC portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of American Indians; includes research data.

Database of these two surveys: National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN).

Acess to state-level health and demographic data about adults with disabilities.

Collects nationally representative data routinely about the American public's use of cancer-related information.

Located in the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA).

Monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including—violence, sexual behaviors, substance use and abuse, dietary behaviors, and inactivity. Includes a national school-based survey conducted by CDC and state, territorial, tribal, and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments.

The Annenberg National Health Communication Survey (ANHCS) is designed to capture national trends relating health behavior and behavioral intentions to media exposure, health knowledge and beliefs, and policy preferences and beliefs. It is the only survey that is continuously in the field with a nationally representative sample, and it is presently one of few surveys emphasizing health communication and its possible outcomes. Since its inception in January 2005, ANHCS has collected data monthly from a nationally representative sample of adults in the United States. This data has been archived and will be made publicly available each year through this website.

The Area Health Resources Files (AHRF)—a family of health data resource products—draw from an extensive county-level database assembled annually from over 50 sources. Products include county and state ASCII files, an MS Access database, an AHRF Mapping Tool and Health Resources Comparison Tools (HRCT).

Provides an overview of key health indicators for local communities to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health. The CHSI report was designed not only for public health professionals but also for members of the community who are interested in the health of their community. Contains over 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties.

237 health datasets from around the world.

Health and nutritional data every two years since 1959.

Produces reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.

The CDC's Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (SMART) project uses the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) to analyze the data of selected metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas (MMSAs) with 500 or more respondents. The data can be used to identify emerging health problems, establish and track health objectives, and develop and evaluate public health policies and programs.

Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.

Registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.