Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philadelphia Inquirer (1981-present)
Searchable fulltext of the Philadelphia Inquirer. Images, advertisements, and classified ads are not provided
[Van Pelt Library Microfilms: News 61], 1861 to present.
[Van Pelt Library Current Periodicals: recent issues].
Philadelphia Daily News (1978-present)
Searchable fulltext of the Philadelphia Daily News, 1978-present (i.e., yesterday). Images, advertisements, and classified ads are not provided.
Includes the City Paper (2001-present) and the Philadelphia Weekly (2002-present) among hundreds of other alternative news weeklies.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Philadelphia's principal African American publication.
Full text archive of Tribune (1991-present) is in Ethnic Newswatch.
Philadelphia Business Journal (1 year backfile)
Lippincott Library Microforms: Film cont. 110], Mar. 29, 1982 to Sept. 23, 1984.
[Lippincott Library Microforms: Business Collection], Nov. 19, 1984 to Aug. 18, 1995
[Lippincott Library Current Periodicals], latest 2 years.
The Jewish Exponent (1991-)
Available in print, 1887-1939 in Katz Center (check Franklin).
Available on microfilm, 1890-1955 and 1970-1998 in Katz Center (check Franklin).
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1900
The collection includes over 900 newspapers. It includes the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-1900), Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836-1876) and Philadelphia North American (1839-1879) as well as many other Philadelphia Newspapers.
Books about Philadelphia
Books published before 1923 are available online in full text and can be downloaded.
Early American Imprints, Series I and II 1639-1819
Enormous database of works published in the United States prior to 1819. Browse for advice literature by clicking on the Subjects tab and choosing 'Society, Manners and Customs.' Relevant subject headings include: Clothing and Dress, Courtship, Etiquette, Manners and Customs, Masturbation, and Sexual Ethics.