It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database. Coverage dates from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before the present.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes four EBSCO fulltext and bibliographic databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Regional Business News. There are bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals. Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
1,140 arts & humanities journals, 1975 to present. Includes citations as well as indexing information for each article, and allows searching where articles are cited. Part of the ISI Web of Science, which also contains the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs. Indexes over 2000 journals from 35 countries, plus relevant dissertations, national and international conference papers, selected books and book chapters, book and other media reviews. 1963 to the present. Updated bimonthly.
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide, including most English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. 1964 to present.
Covers Latin America and U.S. Latinos in all areas of the humanities and social sciences. HAPI cites articles published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish from over four hundred journals. 1970 to the present.
Covers all types of materials relating to Mexican-American topics and, for materials published since 1992, broader topics relating to Latinos. It indexes books and book chapters, articles, newspapers, and dissertations from a broad range of subject disciplines in Spanish or English. Abstracts are often included. 1967 to present.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing scholarly literature in all aspects of urban studies. 1973-present.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing scholarly literature in all aspects of urban studies. Topics include trends in urbanization, urban history, architecture and urban design, housing and real estate, urban development and redevelopment, urban planning and land use, environment and resource conservation, transporation and communication, crime and law enforcement, urban economics, social services and public services, politics and government, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and social issues.
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics in all languages. Provides information about, and links to, journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Book reviews are not included. 1963 to the present.
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. PLEASE NOTE: Penn has licensed two user "seats," which means it is sometimes necessary to wait to get access until other users are finished.