Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources Online
Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading.The following are available online through the Penn Library website.
Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading. The sources listed below are print volumes shelved in Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks, on the first floor of Van Pelt.
Encyclopedia of Globalization by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference JZ1318 .E63 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
The Encyclopedia of Globalizationprovides a thorough understanding of the theoretical underpinnings of globalization as well as the various historical and analytical interpretations. Consisting of over 400 entries, coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization. Entries in the Encyclopediavary in length from 500 to 3500 words, depending on the scope of the topic and its relative prominence in studies and politics of globalization. All entries provide bibliographical references for further reading and research. From the advances in nanotechnology to the controversies surrounding humanitarian intervention, the Encyclopedia of Globalizationis a key inter-disciplinary resource to all aspects of globalization. Compiled by a cross-disciplinary editorial team of leading academics on the subject this essential reference work will appeal to students, scholars, researchers, and the general reader interested in the many facets of globalization.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference JZ1318 .W543 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-27
This five-volume Encyclopedia contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization and is the definitive reference resource for students, researchers and academics in the field. Offers clear and concise explanations of the key concepts of Globalization Arranged in A to Z format over five volumes Includes entries on concepts derived from across the social sciences, from sociology and anthropology to political science, economics, and human geography Looks at the founding theories as well as the realities of globalization today Covers the essential topics in the study of globalization, including agency-structure, Americanization, anti-globalization, Bretton Woods; coca-colonization, Empire; Euro crisis, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, nation-state, neo-liberalism, oil, post-globalization, Qaedaism, rape, sex work, sport, terror, Transnational Corporations, Twitter Revolution, water crisis, Web 2.0, Wikileaks, World Social Forum and, Zapatistas Includes a number of key documentslisted as entries such asthe Kyoto Protocol and The Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor and Politics by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference JZ1318 .G5816 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-19
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization-one of the hottest topics of the day.
Encyclopedia of Global Justice by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference JC578 .E53 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-22
This two-volume Encyclopedia of Global Justice, published by Springer, along with Springer's book series, Studies in Global Justice, is a major publication venture toward a comprehensive coverage of this timely topic. The Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice, and edited and advised by leading scholars from around the world. The wide-ranging entries present the latest ideas on this complex subject by authors who are at the cutting edge of inquiry.The Encyclopedia sets the tone and direction of this increasingly important area of scholarship for years to come. The entries number around 500 and consist of essays of 300 to 5000 words. The inclusion and length of entries are based on their significance to the topic of global justice, regardless of their importance in other areas.
Encyclopedia of Global Health by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference RA441 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-09
The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive A to Z, inter-disciplinary, one-stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. Encompassing four volumes with some 1,200 articles in 2000 pages, the encyclopedia covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. Pedagogical elements of the encyclopedia include an in-depth chronology detailing advances in health through history, a glossary of health definitions, extensive cross-references to related topics, and thorough bibliographic citations.
Globalization and Security by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference D763.M47 G56 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Globalization and Security: An Encyclopedia addresses the need for an authoritative, but accessible analysis of the impact of globalization on security and its multifaceted aspects. Broad in scope, this two-volume set covers the economic and political aspects of globalization, as well as its social and cultural impacts. More importantly, it is the first work to focus explicitly on security, including human security broadly conceived, and the role that globalization plays in the world's new and ever-evolving security environment. While more books on globalization are becoming available, none focus on the impact of globalism on security-related issues as this set does. Drawing on the expertise of specialists from many disciplines and nations, Globalization and Security directly addresses the needs of one of the fastest-growing areas of study, the intersection of globalization and security worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Global Religion by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference BL80.3 .E52 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
The multi-volume Encyclopedia of Global Religion provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion-both negative and positive-to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world. The contributors to the encyclopedia are leading authorities on these topics from around the world.