Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
17th and 18th Century Newspapers Online
America's Historical Newspapers
This collection of almost 1000 newspapers focuses on newspapers first published before the Civil War and newspapers from Pennsylvania.
The Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr, Jr.
This collection is comprised of 805 newspaper issues primarily published between 1765 and 1776 in Boston and surrounding towns. High quality digital images of 3,969 newspaper and pamphlet pages are available.
19th Century Newspapers Online
Proquest Historical Newspapers
-Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
-Chicago Tribune (1849-1989)
-The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
-Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
-American Israelite (1854-2000)
-Christian Science Monitor (1908-1999)
-The New York Times (1851-2009)
-The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
-The Washington Post (1877-1996)
-Norfolk Journal and Gudie (1916-2003)
-American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
-Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
-Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
Historical Newspapers Online
Listing of hundreds of publicly available historic newspapers from the 18th through the 20th centuries.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Database of documents relating slavery, including over 70 pro- and anti-slavery news publications from America, England, Spain and France.
Accessible Archives: 19th century african american newspapers
Includes eight African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1902.
Access Newspaper Archive
Database of hundreds of newspapers from large and small cities, mainly in the United States and England.
Includes such newspapers as:
Arizona Republic (1891-1972)
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1924)
Boston Globe (1854-1922)
Dallas Times Herald (1920-1986)
Columbus Evening Dispatch (1877-1969)
Kingston Gleaner (1834-2016)
New York World (1860-1903)
Austin Daily Texan (1900-1977)
San Antonio Express (1865-1977)
Syracuse Post-Standard (1875-2017)
Miami Herald (1917-1959)
International Herald Tribune, 1887-2013
The European edition of the Herald Tribune (later of the Washington Post and New York Times) with distribution across Europe and, later in its history, globally.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998
280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.