Guides: Global Health Research Guide: Web Resources & Organizations

Web Resources

CIA World FactBook
For each county, includes information about the geography, population, government, economy, transportation, and military. Includes maps.
Essential Health Links
The Essential Health Links website provides more than 750 useful websites for health professionals, medical library communities, publishers, and NGOs in developing and emerging countries.
Gapminder
Gapminder provides statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at the local, national and global levels.
Health Map
GoogleMap application showing locations of disease reports worldwide, gathered from many health news reporters.
HIFA
HIFA is a global initiative with the goal for every person worldwide to have access to an informed healthcare provider by 2015.
International Classification of Diseases
The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is a diagnostic tool used to monitor the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems.
LOC Country Studies
Full-text versions of the most recent volumes, providing overviews of "historical setting, and thesocial, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world", focusing on lesser known areas of the world in which U.S. forces might be deployed.

MedlinePlus
Health information from the National Library of Medicine intended for patients. Easy access to Medline and Health topics, medical dictionaries, directories and publications. Available in multiple languages.
POPLINE
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing and abstracts for the scholarly literature in population studies, family planning, and related subjects. Topics include family planning programs and technology, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, reproductive health programs, women in development, primary health care communication, and population and the environment.

Relief Central
Relief Central is a free mobile and web resource developed by the staff of Unbound Medicine to provide helpful information for disaster relief. This ongoing initiative delivers the latest information at the point of need to relief workers, first responders, and anyone working in the field, helping them assess damage, learn about the geographic location, view journal citations and abstracts, and access the latest news.
The Lancet Global Health Portal
The Lancet Global Health Portal provides Lancet global health content, gathered into one location. Most of the global health content is free to all users.

Organizations

Evaluating Web Sources

Before you can use the information you've found you need to evaluate it to determine its appropriateness for your purposes, which can often be done by applying a number of standard citeria:

Credibility
Accurac
Currency
Relevance
Bias