It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the National Gallery of Art for Open Access images. These digitized images of artwork have been determined to be in the public domain, are free to use and download, and can be used commercially or non-commercially. Under "Advanced Search," check the box "Open Access Available" to just search downloadable, open access images.
When searching the NGA, you may add pictures to your "Lightbox" to view or download later. Pictures in the NGA include information about the work and author. You may add your own notes on a picture by adding it to your "Lightbox."
The NYPL provides low-resolution images which are free to use for personal, educational, or research purposes, but not commercially. You may "select" an image to view later in "My Selections." The NYPL must be credited by using the permalink provided, or, when using the image offline, by using: “Courtesy of The New York Public Library. www.nypl.org”
This timeline allows you to explore the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection by time period, geographical region, or thematic category.
You may use materials presented by the Met "for limited non-commercial, educational, and personal use only, or for fair use as defined in the United States copyright laws." Any materials you use or download must cite the author and source as well as include the URL "www.metmuseum.org." For more information, look at the "Authorized Uses" explanation in the Met's Terms and Conditions page.
This collection, containing over 125,000 works of art and counting, provides high-resolution images to download and use. On the homepage, select "Collection" to get started. Choose to explore the collection, search for images, or set up a free account to start your own Rijksstudio. Rijksstudio allows you to save artwork or portions of artwork to your page, build collections, and will even select the museum pieces you "match" through their "Master Matcher."
When you choose to download an image, you are prompted to indicate your intended use: personal, professional, or commercial. Each has different terms and conditions. Personal use is completely free and may be downloaded immediately; you may have to fill out a form or pay a fee for professional or commercial uses, depending on the image and intended use. See the copyright page for more information.
The Getty Museum now has an Open Content Program, which makes their digital content and public domain images available for any purpose, free of charge, and no permission needed. When searching the Getty collection, look for a download button on the full image record; this signifies that the image is open content. To browse all currently available open content images, click here.
Getty asks that the following attribution line be used:
Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.
This special collection from the University of Washington contains plates from fashion journals dating from the 19th to early 20th century (roughly 1806-1915). Use the "Explore Collection" box on the right side of the page to start searching by period, keyword, subject, or to browse the collection.
Images from this collection may be used for "classroom use, student projects, personal display, or research" without permission. Any other use would require you to fill out a Permission Request Form. The University of Washington requires that you credit any image you use in the following way:
University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections, [plus the negative or identification number]
University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections, UW13452
Google Image Search
Google images can now be searched by reuse rights! Simply type in your search query, click "Search tools", and filter by license.
Created by the University of South Florida, this site has a free classroom license - students and educators may use the clip art for non-commercial classroom projects. Up to 50 pictures may be used per project. They ask that you credit the site in the following way when you use any of their content:
Getty Images has made 35 million images free to embed for non-commercial purposes (you may not use the images to promote a service, a product or business). Embeddable images will have an embed symbol below the image in question:
When you click on the image you wish to embed, a window with the image will pop up. Click on the embed symbol (located below the picture) to get the HTML code which can be copied and pasted into your site:
Wikimedia allows you to search photos under Creative Commons licenses, GFDL, and public domain images, and you may specifically search for each of these types of licenses. Check for licensing restrictions on each photo's page. Wikimedia gives you the option to download images, including attribution, in different sizes or to use the image on the web or on a wiki.
The pictures and clip art available on the Microsoft Office site can be used in projects and documents but not for any commercial uses. These sample images are the ones included in the Microsoft Office program and are available for download off this site.
If you use one of these images, you must include the following attribution: "Used with permission from Microsoft."
The photos on this site are available for students and educators to use in an educational setting. According to the site, the images are "copyright friendly," meaning that they are under copyright but the original photographers have given their permission for their photos to be used for educational purposes, as described above. You may browse, search, and download the images. Each image includes a pre-made citation and information about the photographer for attribution.
Vintage images and artwork created from these images. The images are free to use for your own purposes but cannot be used commercially. The site is a little difficult to search - you will mostly have to browse by the categories/links given - but it does have many one-of-a-kind images either submitted by the owners or as part of the artwork created from the images.
The American Memory project provides open access to over 5 million items through the Library of Congress and other institutions. Because it is such a large collection, it may be difficult to browse for items. Use the "search all collections" box to search by keyword, or browse by the categories listed on the American Memory home page. Once you choose a category, you may browse each collection individually or select collections to search by keyword.
GENERALLY, you may use these collections for educational and personal purposes, but EACH COLLECTION MAY HAVE DIFFERENT RESTRICTIONS OR COPYRIGHTS. Search the individual sites for copyright/attribution information, and check each item for any restrictions before use. Read the Library of Congress' pages on Copyright and Primary Sources and Legal Notices.