Skip to main content

Finding Open Access Images: Images at Penn

Notice on Image Use

This page contains links to some of Penn's image collections, which may or may not be open access. Be sure to read over the Copyrights & Permissions pages of each site, and contact the appropriate person for permission to use images you find on these sites.

DigitalPenn Image Collections

View all of Penn's e-collections.  See the rest of the boxes on this page for more information on some of these individual collections, content, and copyright information.

Penn Museum

Search through thousands of records of collection holdings from the Penn Museum.  These images may be downloaded here and used however you wish under an attributive creative commons license.

Fine Arts Image Collection

This database contains over 100,000 digital images and 500,000 slides of works of art available to Penn students, faculty, and staff.  Search the collection by keyword, or browse by artist, culture, period, site, museum, worktype, or title. Login with your PennKey and choose "Yes" in the "Digital images" box to narrow the results to images which may be seen online.


These images may only be used internally by Penn students, faculty, and staff for educational purposes. For more information about a particular image, contact Patty Guardiola.

Furness Theatrical Image Collection

This collection is devoted to the study of Shakespeare and his contemporaries, his plays and their performances, and to the Renaissance and the history of Shakespearean theater in a broader sense. Search the database by person, play, character, person in role, format, view, color, publisher, city, or category.


"Downloading, distribution, reproduction and publication of some material may be subject to limitations," so contact Lynne Farrington with any questions regarding the copyright of a specific image.

Mary Binney Wheeler Image Collection

This collection of over 9,000 images is the result of Mary Binney Wheeler's lectures and travels to India and Sri Lanka in the mid to late 20th century. Narrow the search by category, people, geographic location, lecture, or year.

 

Images may be subject to restrictions.  Contact us with any questions about copyright on a particular image.

University Archives Digital Image Collection

Browse over 5,700 digital images from the University Archives and Records Center.  These images pertain to the history of the University of Pennsylvania and its surrounding area.

Images may be used for scholarship and research purposes.  For more information on use and restrictions, look over the Copyrights & Permissions page or contact the University Archives and Record Center.

Images at Penn

"The Creation of Adam and Eve" from SIMS, University of Pennsylvania

Browse the ever-growing collections presented throughout this page of the guide and discover the wealth of images to be found right here at Penn!  Keep in mind that these images may be subject to restrictions.

Penn in Hand: Selected Manuscripts

This site contains digital facsimiles of selected manuscript codices, texts, documents, papers, and leaves from Penn's Rare Book & Manuscript Library and from the Lawrence J. Schoenberg Collection.

 

Images may be subject to limitations.  Contact the Kislak Center for more information regarding copyright.

Print at Penn: Selected Printed Works

This repository contains digital facsimiles of selected printed works from the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' print collections, dating from the 15th to 20th century.

 

For more information on copyright limitations, contact Lynne Farrington.

Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies (SIMS)

Use this link to search over 12,000 images of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music in various collections at the University of Pennsylvania. 

Although many of the images were published before 1923, making them public domain, all Library-owned content is under a Creative Commons license, which requires attribution.  If you wish to use any of the images in a publication or commercial use, contact the curator of the appropriate collection.  For more information, visit the Permission and Fair Use of Images page of SIMS.