Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Materials from Library Session
Large Cross-National Databases
Datasets that include a wide variety of variables for all or most countries in the world.
One-stop source for data collected by various United Nations entities. Includes Environment Statistics Database, UNSD Demographic Statistics, WHO Data, World Contraceptive Use, and World Fertility Data. Most useful as a tool to identify the IGO producing data on your topic, so that you can visit that IGO's website for additional variables and time series.
Demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators from the World Bank's principal data source, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, 1960-present. The World Bank's flagship data product is: World Development Indicators
Global Health Observatory Data
The World Health Organization's main health statistics repository. Covers 1990 onward and includes mortality, risk factors, disease prevalence, health workforce, injuries, and other statistics.
SDG Indicators : Sustainable Development Goals
United Nations Statistics Division. Data measuring progress toward the United Nation's current development goals, including those related to poverty, hunger, health, education, gender rights, housing, energy, employment and more, by country 1985-2015. Supersedes the Millennium Development Goals
Datasets that include population size, population density, growth rates, age and sex structure, fertility rates, migration, contraception practices (including infanticide, abortion, sterilization, and the use of birth control technology)
United States data in an easy-to-use map and table interface. Provides 1790-2010 Decennial Census and American Community Survey tables through the most recent release. Geographies covered include nationwide, states, and small areas. Downloadable in Excel, CSV, SPSS, SAS, and Stata file formats. Much more friendly to use than the US Census Bureau's American FactFinder
, which will have additional datasets and more recent data, too.
UN Demographic Yearbook
The basic UN statistical annual reporting population statistics. This page provides links to MS Excel spreadsheets in addition to PDF versions of each volume. See especially the "DYB Special Issues": the 1997 supplement includes historical time series.
World Population Propects
Migration, population, fertility, and mortality by country and year, with projections into the future. Produced by the UN's Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division.
U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base
Fertility, growth rate, population density, and population by age group, from 1950-2050 by country and year.
USAID's Demographic and Health Surveys collects data on population, contraception practices, maternal and child health, HIV, nutrition, education, and more in over 90 countries. Use the STATcompiler
to access statistics.
Generations & Gender Programme Contextual Database
An EU infrastructure project. Demographic, economic, and policy indicators for selected countries in Europe, North America. Includes fertility, marriages and divorces, abortions, child care, poverty, labor, pensions, and other indicators.
OECD International Migration Statistics
"The International Migration database presents data showcasing flows and stocks of the total immigrant population and immigrant labour force, together with data on acquisition of nationality." Covers 1975- 2018.
Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
U.S. and international migration data, drawn primarily from United Nations sources by a thinktank. Includes some map visualizations.
From the European Union's statistical agency. A wide range of data for European countries, with data for smaller areas too. Look for the Tables, Maps, & Graphs and Data Explorer interfaces, or to open the zip (.gz) files, download WinZip.
Health Data - General
Datasets that include life expectancy, morbidity and mortality, crude death rate, age/sex-specific death rate, infant mortality rates, maternal mortality rates
"The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages."
Health, United States
Annual data, with narrative on trends in US health statistics, from CDC's National Center for Health Statistics.
Health Data - Prevalence of Disease
WHO Global Infobase
Non-communicable diseases (diabetes, obesity, alcohol abuse, high blood pressure, stroke, oral health), by country and age groups.
Global Cancer Observatory
WHO datasets and data visualization tools for global cancer statistics.
SEER: Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results
Cancer incidence and survival in the United States.
Includes epidemiological databases and statistics.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base
Prevalence by country and year, age, and sex. Some sub-national statistics available.
Prevalence of malaria, HIV, anemia in selected developing nations.
Datasets that include GDP, economic growth rates, inflation, productivity, percentage of women in the workforce, imports, exports, per capita income, labor force by industry, use of child labor, degree of urbanization, family and household structure.
World Development Indicators
Widely used source for GDP, imports and exports, employees by industry, child in employment, labor force participation. Part of the World Bank's Data Bank.
Cross-country labor statistics, from the International Labour Organization.
Country-level time series data on many topics, especially strong on economy and development. Data are mostly reported for developed-world countries, members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Datasets that include air and water quality, soil quality, management and erosion, deforestation, desertification, changes in biodiversity waste disposal practices and consequences, availability of critical resources.
National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network
Air quality and environmental exposure by state or county, United States.
Centralized data dissemination for EPA.
WHO Environmental Health
Air pollution, sanitation,lead, and UV exposure by country.
UNSD Environmental Indicators
Air, biodiversity, energy, forests, governance, water, natural disasters and waste, by country. From the UN Statistics Division.
Other Data Indexes
These sites provide indexing (for easier searchability) and full-text access to a wide range of data sets.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Continues the US Census Bureau's essential annual statistical reference work. Useful for identifying data producers for specific topics.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition
A compilation of U.S. time-series data on many topics, drawing from StatAbs and other publications. Essays and notes are essential reading. Published by Cambridge University Press in collaboration with the US Census Bureau.
National and international data sources and links
UN Statistical Division's link list for national statistical agencies and IGO statistical agencies.
A 3rd-party vendor platform presenting time-series data from U.S., IGO, and commercial data producers.
Census and survey microdata from the U.S. and many countries. Provides dataset extraction and online analysis tools, with crosswalk variables to facilitate multi-year comparisons.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research)
Social science data sets from academic and government organizations. ICPSR offers thematic collections, including Integrated Fertility Survey Series, and Data Sharing for Demographic Research. HINT! Look for the "analyze online" filter ... but remember that you'll be creating tables directly from microdata.
Proquest Statistical Insight
International and U.S. data sets from a wide range of agencies and organizations, 1970- present. Use the filters on the left to narrow search results by source, geography, data type, subject, and more.