Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Digital Libraries
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA makes works from America's libraries, archives, and museums freely available to the world. Search for photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more resources.
Europeana provides images, texts, sounds, and videos collected from Europe's leading galleries, archives, libraries, and museums.
Global Digital Library Partners and Content
Resources and collaborations with the Penn Libraries on global digitization efforts.
Open Access Tracking Project
Guides to Public Access Images, Text, and Resources
Finding Open Access Images Guide
This guide gives resources for finding and using public domain, creative commons, and other open access images.
Search for images from flickr with a variety of Creative Commons licenses.
For more information on Creative Commons and licenses, visit the
Creative Commons page
on the Finding Open Access Images guide.
The Public Domain Review
The Public Domain Review is a fortnightly online newsletter featuring articles and curated publicly accessible collections (including images, texts, films, audio, etc.).
The Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) is a searchable directory of open access repositories around the world.
Search for journals and articles from the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
Search for books in the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB).