Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online
Contains 45,000 authoritative articles on all aspects of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Includes biographies of artists, patrons, and writers on art; info rmation on civilizations and cultures, towns and cities, styles and movements, art forms, materials and techniques.
Grove Art Online
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes), as well as the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion of Western Art, and many images.
African American Visual Artists Database
Includes images of art by artists of the African Diaspora and Africa who have lived, worked, studied or exhibited in the U.S., Canada, and the Caribbean. Artists are eligible for inclusion when they have been actively and professionally engaged in the production of works of art for a period of at least 4 years and are at least 21 years old. As of August 2008, the databse included nearly 11,000 artists.
Art Image Databases
The ARTstor collection includes approximately 500,000 images of works of art, architecture and archaeology along with the necessary software to view the images, create personal groups of images and create presentations.
AP Photo Archive
AP Photo Archive is a database containing close to 500,000 images from the Associated Press newswire service. It is international in scope and dates back 150 years. It contains a selection of historical images as well as continuously growing file of current photos. Each photo is accompanied by a story-level caption. Words in captions are searchable with Boolean operators.