Skip to main content

Research Impact and Citation Analysis: Selected Resources Offering Article Impact Metrics

Author Impact Metrics

Citation metrics can be tracked through many resources including the following search databases,

Scopus

Connect: Scopus

After completing a search, note the Cited by indication to the right of the citation

Web of Science

Connect: Web of Science (WOS)

In the search results, next to a citation not the Times Cited number:

You may also use the Cited Reference Search. 

Google Scholar

Connect:  Google Scholar 

After completing a search, note the cited by links.

ProQuest Databases

Connect: ProQuest Combined Search

any ProQuest Databases including ABI Inform, ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts. Click on Cited by link.

Proquest reference

EBSCO Databases

Connect: EBSCO Databases

Many of the EBSCO databases, including America History & Life, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Communication Source, Historical Abstracts, MLA, provide citation information. Click on Times Cited in this Database OR click on Cited References in the navigation bar across the top. (Sometimes "More"). Search on author plus other criteria. To view citing articles, mark check boxes and click Find Citing Articles.

Wiley Interscience

Connect: Wiley Interscience

Citation tracking information is only available for those articles to which the Penn Libraries subscribes. Click on article and note metrics information to the right.

Wiley Metrics image

IEEE Explore

Connect: IEEE Xplore

Click on Cited by:

Engineering Village - Compendex and Inspec

Connect: Engineering Village

Click Cited by in Scopus # below the citation.

EI image of link to Scopus citations

PubMed Plus

Connect: PubMedPlus

See links to right of abstract under: Cited by # PubMed Central articles

PubMed Cited by Links

OVID Databases

Connect:  OVID Databases

Medline, BIOSIS, Agricola, CAB Abstracts, Social Work Abstracts, Global Health. Click on Find Citing Articles to right of a reference.

pointer to Finding CIting Articles image

Sage Publications

Connect: Sage Publications 

From an abstract page, click the Article Metrics button for Altmetic information and citation use from Crossref and Web of Science.

 Sage Article Metrics button

SciFinder

Connect: SciFinder (you must make an account at the start)

Select a particular reference, then click the Get Related Citations, and then click Get Citing.