Overview - Critical Writing Program: What Drives Engineering - Spring 2020

Hitting the Brakes

Using Citations to Find Books

If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.

Other important resources for finding books:

Using Citations to Find Articles

If you have a complete article citation, or even just a journal title, you can use the PennText article finder on the Library homepage.

If we do not have access to a book or journal article in any format, use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library

Scholarly Databases

Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles.

Compendex
Engineering specific database that index primarily journal and conference literature.

APA PsycInfo
Primary database for searching the literature of Psychology and Related Fields.
ERIC (Education Information Resource Center) - ProQuest
Database for searching literature on Education.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary database indexing journal and conference literature. Can be used to track literature via citations.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, indexing scholarly journals, trade, professional and design magazines, as well as news sources. Some full text is directly available.

SAE Mobilus
Access to SAE Technical Papers on vehicle technology, several of which are cited in Johnson's book.

JSTOR
Archive of back issues of journals as well as e-books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR is an indepentent archive providing access to older issues of journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Penn Libraries generally provide access to more current issues directly from publisher websites.

Penn Libraries website
Access our entire range of resources and services from our website. Feel free to contact us if you need assistance.

How to Read a Citation

	Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.
	Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.