Guides: ANTH347 Anthropology of Corporations: Company Background

Business and Historical Literature Aggregators

Combine the directions below for searching for a specific company with additional keywords such as company profiles, corporate profiles, business planning, etc.

ABI/Inform
Enter your company's name in the search box and choose Company/Org from the drop-down menu.
America: History and Life
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use the CO Company Entity field to focus on articles about a specific company.
Business Source Complete
Enter your company's name in the search box and choose CO Company Entity from the drop-down menu.

Full-text Newspapers & Magazines

Financial Times, 1888-2021
Provides online access to a complete facsimile run of the Financial Times from 1888 to 2010.

Factiva
Provides access to over 32,000 sources of national and international news
New York Times (1851-2019), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text of the New York Times. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing
Full-text of the New York Times. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing. Through the ProQuest interface, a searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image in ProQuest Historical Newspapers (although the ASCII text is not available for printing or emailing). Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved including article title, publication, issue date, author, page, etc. Articles are emailed in pdf format.
Newsbank Access World News
Searchable fulltext of international and U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) with extensive backfiles.
Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing.
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal. News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements are all searchable and available for viewing and printing. Through the ProQuest interface, a searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image in ProQuest Historical Newspapers (although the ASCII text is not available for printing or emailing). Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved including article title, publication, issue date, author, page, etc. Articles are emailed in pdf format.

Periodical Indexes

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
Combined HW Wilson journal article indexes covering a broad range of general business and trade publications: Industrial Arts Index (1913-1958), Business Periodicals Index (1958-1982), Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983).
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Provides comprehensive indexing of the popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, such as Time, Newsweek, New Republic, National Review, and many others. Covers 1900-1982. Contents reflect the history of 20th century America.

Company Directories

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, industry code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or in combination.
D&B Hoovers
Provides company profiles (company histories, strategies, market positions, major events and other information) for international public and private companies.

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) is the numerical classification system used by government agencies and many business databases to classify businesses based on what industries they operate in. NAICS codes can be 2-6 digits, with longer codes representing more specific industries, and NAICS codes are searchable online through the US Census.

Company Structure & Subsidiary History

Nexis Dossier
International directory of corporate structure of public and private companies, with subsidiary listings and corporate linkage information on more than 170,000 parent companies and their affiliates. Includes historical information going back to the mid-1990s. Earlier information available in print in the Peck Collection (Directory of Corporate Affiliations).
Mergent Archives
(Formerly Moody's) Company information including business descriptions, histories, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock for US and international companies. 1910-current. Also available in print (Moody's/Mergent Manuals) in the Peck Collection.

Finding Books in Penn's Collection

Use Franklin, Penn Libraries' Online Catalog to find books about your target company. Search for the company name using the Subject Heading Keyword option. You will be more likely to find books about larger companies. See for example this search for books about Google.

If Penn does not own a particular title or if a book that you want is checked out, search the BorrowDirect or E-ZBorrow catalogs. Books requested from one of our partner institutions generally arrive within 3-5 business days.

ANTH347 Anthropology of Corporations: Company Background