It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Given below are the list of ITMAT core, research facilities and centers found at the University of Pennsylvania with relevance to Bioinformatics. Some of the listed links may not seem relevant to Bioinformatics based on their title. However, they actively offer related data processing services which are of importance from a Bioinformatics perspective. The services listed under each link are predominantly only the ones related to Bioinformatics. Information on other services can be found on the corresponding websites.
For information such as contact details for the facility of your need and interest, click on the information symbol (denoted by the "i" in a circle) next to the link. Further information on the pricing and formalities associated with each facility can be found on their webpages.
ACARD (Automated Claims and Medical Record Databases) is a core in the Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (CCEB) created to foster epidemiologic research into therapeutics, using large population-based automated claims databases (Medicaid / Medicare) and medical records databases (GPRD™ and THIN), and an adverse event reporting system (AERS) database.
The databases that are accessible through ACARD are given below:
The Health Improvement Network (THIN) - medical record database from the United Kingdom
OptumInsight - US health care claims databas
Cerner MultumTM Lexicon Plus - Drug database for identifying national drug codes (NDCs)
Laura Anatale-Tardiff, MPH
Research Project Manager
Sean Hennessy, PharmD, PhD
The Penn Medicine BioBank supports researchers by providing centralized access to a large number of annotated blood and tissue samples. This bank of samples and linked data will be an invaluable resource to the Penn Medicine basic, translational, and clinical research communities.
The ITMAT Bioinformatics Facility provide project based bioinformatics support for ITMAT translational researchers. Our focus has been on providing the computational infrastructure and programming support needed to conduct high-throughput proteomics experiments. We also support other genomics high-throughput technologies to a lesser extent. See the resources page for more information on our projects and what we have to offer.
The services and resources offered and available are given below:
IT infrastructure to facilitate informatics development for high-throughput proteomics and lipidomics experiments
Centralized storage and back-up of vital experimental data
Laboratory Information Management System (LIMS) for annotation of experiments and data management
Independent high-throughput compute cluster facilities
Director: Gregory Grant - email@example.com
Nicholas Lahens, PhD
BIIT functions as a virtual ITMAT Center, facilitating "best practices" and access to research IS and IT resources across Penn Medicine and CHOP and has, as its primary focus, the end user amongst the 800 plus members of the institute.
The services offered are given below:
Data resource needs assessment
Evaluation, selection and deployment of commercial software tools (eg, REDCap, Velos, Oracle Clinical)
Development of specialized software systems
Support for data collection, management, and integration
Guidance on computing hardware support and
Education and training
For contacts information please visit:
The services and assistance offered are given below:
Collection of data from operational information systems in the Penn health system
Creation of interventions in operational information systems in the Penn health system
Foster the use of information systems such as electronic medical record and computerized order entry in the conduct of clinical trials
Enable the use of Electronic Health Records, Computerized Order Entry Systems, Health System Administrative Databases, laboratory and other ancillary test information systems
Assist ITMAT investigators on understanding the types and quality of data and limitations of its use for health system information systems
Craig A Umscheid, MD, MSCE
Associate Professor of Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Director, Center for Evidence-based Practice, Penn Medicine
Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine
South Pavilion, 6th Floor, Room 623
3400 Civic Center Boulevard
Philadelphia, PA 19104
The Department of Biomedical and Health Informatics (DBHi) resides in The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia as the home for the development of innovative solutions to healthcare's immediate and long-term informatics needs. We provide informatics-focused services, applications, and educational programs to Children's Hospital clinicians and researchers and seek to transform their craft with high-impact, low-cost solutions.