Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Leading trade mag for fashion designers/manufacturers and apparel retailers. While articles can be found in larger databases like Business Source Complete, this subscription gives us full color images that are so important for this industry. Archive goes back to 1994.
Note that this market research database will require you to create a personal profile to save searches, create presentations, and receive email alerts- use your Penn email address as your username. Then, browse by scrolling over Category (choices include Retail & Apparel, or a consumer demographic segment like Teens), or search by keyword (e.g. "jeans"). Reports have consumer survey data analysis, and focus on the US and Western Europe.
Great coverage of countries around the globe. In menu at top of page, hover over Industries to find things like Apparel and Footwear --> Apparel --> Apparel by Category --> Outerwear. Select from many geographies, then Run Search. Great market size and share data, plus Category Briefings with full analysis of a particular market.
This database collects market research reports written by several providers, and has good coverage of apparel and accessories. Browse the headings under Consumer Goods & Retailing on the main page, or search by keyword (e.g. "footwear"). Reports are generally US-focused, large (300+ pages), and comprehensive.
Standard & Poors Net Advantage
This database of S&P industry surveys will help you find industry overviews, including major players, as well as outlooks/forecasts. Click on Industries to find Apparel & Footwear: Retailers & Brands.
The best way to search this huge industry report database will be by keyword (e.g. maternity wear). Their industry reports are broken down by those that follow the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) and those that focus on niche goods/services.
Business Research Librarian