Skip to main content

Writing and Research Workshop for MCP & HSPV Students: Citation Info

This guide accompanies the September 15th, 2015, workshop developed for first year City Planning and Historic Preservation international students.

Citation Indexes

What is it? A citation index is a bibliographic database which draws together and indexes citations between publications. In so doing, a user may trace the evolution of a scholarly argument, the publication patterns of scholars, and the academic impact a given article has had. 

Citing Data

Want detailed guidelines for citing data?  See:

Examples of data citations include:

  • Cite a complete dataset, e.g.:
    • Bachman, Jerald G., Lloyd D. Johnston, and Patrick M. O'Malley. Monitoring the Future: A Continuing Study of American Youth (12th-Grade Survey), 1998 [Computer file]. Conducted by University of Michigan, Survey Research Center. ICPSR02751-v1. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [producer and distributor], 2006-05-15. http://dx.doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR02751.
    • ASTER Global Digital Elevation Model, version 1, ASTGTM_N11E122_num.tif, ASTGTM_N11E123_num.tif, Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry (METI) of Japan and NASA, downloaded from https://wist.echo.nasa.gov/api/, October 27, 2009
  • Cite a subject archive entry, e.g.:
    Genbank accession number, available at: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.

Data archives may provide guidelines on how to cite the data, e.g.,:

Courtesy of MIT Libraries

Example Indexes

Penn subscribes to a number of dedicated citation indexes but you can also find that same functionality in other databases.  Below are a few examples.

Web of Science: Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Search for scholarly articles in any discipline, or for articles that cite a known author or work.

Google Scholar: Features citation information for many articles retrieved. Look for the "cited by" link in the brief record.

Periodical Index Online: An index to tables of contents of periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO).

Citation Management

A research project can generate hundreds of citations from diverse sources. Learn about citation management software that can help you save and organize your citations, as well as automatically generate bibliographies.  Penn Libraries supports the use of two tools: RefWorks and Zotero.

RefWorks - web-based tool for extracting citations from databases and creating bibliographies.

Zotero - free, open source tool for saving citations in your browser, from databases or web sources.

For a complete review of citation management systems supported at Penn, follow this link.