Guides: Huntsman Program Senior Seminar: News & Current Events

Databases for news and current events

Factiva
A full-text online service that provides access to sources of national and international news, such as the NYT and WSJ, business and general information. Sources include newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, web sites and blogs. Also provides access to several financial databases. It covers over 32,000 sources in 28 languages from 200 countries.
World News Connection
English translations of non-U.S. media sources.
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975-1996)
Contemporary coverage of political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events worldwide, relying upon international and local language news sources. The FBIS Electronic Index provides access to the FBIS Daily Reports microfiche collection by subject (including personalities), date, country, and region.

Lexis Nexis
Updated daily. : Access to full-text national and international newspapers , including the New York Times, and the Times of London business and accounting information, biographical data, and some selected legal materials. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.

PressReader
The last 60 days of 225 newspapers from 55 countries. In many cases the selections are mainstream newspapers and in others, the choices are odd.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery

If you are unable to find a book or article that you need through the Penn Libraries, you can use one of our InterLibrary Loan systems to search beyond the holdings in Franklin and try and locate it at another library: Click here for access to BorrowDirect+, EZBorrow, and InterLibrary Loan.

As Wharton students, you are also eligible for our Document Delivery services. For more information on DocDel, click here.

E-resources for historical newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Multi-database search interface that allows for simultaneous searching of the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Defender, Pittsbugh Courier and Wall Street Journal
Historical Newspapers Index
Access to Palmer's Index to the Times (London), 1790-1905; Official Index to the Times (London), 1906-1980;

Gale Primary Sources
Simultaneous searching of the following news databases:
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th-18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 1
19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 2
Daily Mail
Economist Historical Archive
Financial Times Historical Archive
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Picture Post
Sunday Times Digital Archive
Times Digital Archive
Telegraph Historical Archive

Finding print and microfilm periodicals at Penn

When you know the title(s) of the newspaper(s) you want to see: Do a Title search in Franklin for the name of the periodical, e.g. Newsweek. Always check the holdings record to see which issues we hold and in what format. Most older newspapers are available only on microfilm.
When you don't know the title(s) of periodical(s) you need: To identify periodicals from a particular city or country held by the Penn libraries, try a Subject search in Franklin with the word "periodicals" and the name of the country or city. So, for Indian periodicals, search for "periodicals india," or for Parisian newspapers, "periodicals france paris." To do a more general keyword search use the "Format" facet to limit results to periodicals. It may also be useful to limit your search to titles in a particular language.