Guides: ANCH Augustan Cultural Revolution: Overview

Thinking about Search Terms and Phrases, Synonyms, Dates, Names, or Concepts

Use these terms and subject headings (as well as those you select on your own) when searching for resources in Franklin or other journal and book databases.

Subject Headings (Library of Congress)

Rome History Empire, 30 B.C. - 284 A.D.
Augustus, Emperor of Rome, 63 B.C.-14 A.D.
Emperors -- Rome -- Biography.
Rome -- History -- Augustus, 30 B.C.-14 A.D.
Rome -- Politics and government, 30 B.C.-284 A.D.
Rome--History--Republic, 265 - 30 B.C.
Rome -- History -- Civil War, 43-31 B.C.
Rome -- Histry -- Military
Slaves -- Rome -- History.
Power (Social sciences) -- Rome -- History.
Social status -- Rome -- History.
Roman Provincies -- Administration

Keywords:

Principate
Dictatorship
Culture
Civil War
Emperor
Empire
Civilization
Revolution
Actium
Alexanderiar
Roman law
Poetry
Aesthetics
Ancient

Get a comprehensive view area of study with these scholarly handbooks and guides

These resources provide contextual information.

Companion to Late Antiquity
From the series: Blackwell companions to the ancient world. Ancient history
Brill's New Pauly
Encyclopedic entries on most aspects of the ancient world, including Rome
Digital Loeb
online access, with critical aparatus, to the ancient Greek and Latin texts. The Loeb is a bilingual edition with the original language and English on facing pages.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Classics. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable
Cambridge Ancient History Online
14 volumes covering both Greece and Rome. Each volume is linked separately in Franklin. This link takes you to the volume for Augustan Empire. Find a list of all the volumes here
Oxford Handbooks in Classics (Online)
Substantial chapters on a range of topics within the broad field of Classical Studies.
Classical Studies Research Guide at Penn Libraries

Ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: Print editions available at Van Pelt Reference and Museum Library: DE5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195170726
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world- including Rome--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Encyclopedia of the Roman Army
ISBN: 9781405176194
Publication Date: 2015
A comprehensive online reference to the armed forces in ancient Rome during its Early Period, Republic, Principate, and Late Antique times.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Bagnall, et al., editors.
ISBN: 9781405179355
Publication Date: 2012
Multivolume set available online (and in print at Van Pelt Library and the Museum). Search across all volumes.

identify and Find Journal Articles and Chapters in Books

L'Annee Philologique
Current scholarship in Classical Studies (including over 1,500 journals and 500 articles in collections and conference papers).

JSTOR
Use advanced search, limit journal subject to Classical Studies and History. Primarily journal articles, but Penn's JSTOR subscription includes some books

Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.

Finding the Physical Books on the Library Shelves

First, use Franklin to identify the book's library and call number. Books may be located in Van Pelt, Fine Arts, and Museum libraries. Using the "request" button in Franklin, you can also ask that books be sent from one library to be picked up at another.

Other Penn Libraries
Locations of Penn's libraries
If the book is in "LIBRA"
If the location of the book is listed as "LIBRA" then click on the "Request" link located to the right of the book. It will be shipped to the library you choose in one or two business days.
Borrow Direct/EZBorrow
Borrow Books from the Ivies and Pennsylvania libraries.

What if we don't have the book or journal article you need?

What if the book you are looking for is checked out or worse yet missing? You have access to the collections of all of the Ivy League libraries (Borrow Direct), all of the Pennsylvania and surrounding libraries (EZ Borrow), and in fact most of the libraries in this country (ILL). We have access to more than a billion journal and newspaper articles and book chapters, but we don't have access to all of them. What do you do when doesn't connect you to the article. It can be as easy as clicking the "get it" button:

To learn more about all of your options, visit a guide that describes EZ Borrow, Borrow Direct, ILL, and more.

Since the pandemic, we have extensively expanded our electronic book collection for Oxford, Cambridge, Bloomsbury, De Gruyter, Brill, and more.

Some Links to books that may provide supporting information

Link to a selection of books on Augustan influence

Link to a selection of books on Roman History and the Emperor Augustus

Augustus

Augustus of Prima Porta, Photograph by Till Niermann

CONTACT for Assistance

For assistance with research, locating and getting resources, or any other research or resource related question, please contact, Rebecca Stuhr
Librarian Specialist for Classical Studies.
Van Pelt 216
stuhrreb @ upenn . edu

Using Citations to Find Resources

You may already have citations of relevance to the text on which you are working. These resources will help you find an online or text version of the cited work.

Paste the title of book or journal article in the search box at the Penn Libraries home page

Only know the journal title? Search directly in the Franklin Catalog
Looking for a book? Use Franklin
Not finding it at Penn? Worldcat will help you find books and other resources at libraries other than Van Pelt

Citation Management

For information on using different citation management tools connect to: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/citationmgmt

Access Penn's subscription to the Chicago Manuel Online

For good examples for a variety of formats see the Excelsior Owl formatting guides connect to: