HIST 233 (2017) Feminism in the Americas: Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the Encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward. From A-to-Z, this work will cover the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Signed entries (with cross-references and recommended readings) cover the full range of issues in contemporary women's studies, with volumes including information relevant to the following academic disciplinary contexts: arts and media; business and economics; criminal justice; education; family studies; health; media; military; politics; science and technology; sports; religion; and women in different cultures and countries.

Informed throughout by a feminist perspective, the encyclopedia focuses on traditional women's concerns, such as political participation, human rights, nutrition, housework, the family, equality, health and more.

Presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries. Each entry is followed by extensive bibliographic references, including primary and secondary sources.

Covers 72 of the most noteworthy women who have made contributions to their fields and to society. These include Violeta Barrios de Chamorro, Celia Cruz, Frida Kahlo, the Mirabal sisters, and Carmen Naranjo,

The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America distills 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. It features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully.

This singular reference provides an authoritative account of the daily lives of enslaved women in the United States, from colonial times to emancipation following the Civil War. Through essays, photos, and primary source documents, the female experience is explored, and women are depicted as central, rather than marginal, figures in history. * Dozens of photos of former enslaved women * Detailed historical timeline * Numerous rare primary documents, including runaway slave advertisements and even a plantation recipe for turtle soup * Profiles of noted female slaves and their works

The volume features 113 articles, 65 of which are entirely new for this edition. Thematic articles address subjects such as sexuality, respectability, and paternalism and investigate the role of gender in broader subjects, including the civil rights movement, country music, and sports. Topical entries highlight individuals such as Oprah Winfrey, the Grimke sisters, and Dale Earnhardt, as well as historical events such as the capture of Jefferson Davis in a woman's dress, the Supreme Court's decision in Loving v. Virginia, and the Memphis sanitation workers' strike, with its slogan, "I AM A MAN."

With an emphasis on modern pioneers from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds such as Madeleine Albright, Linda Chavez-Thompson, Shirley Chisholm, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Winona LaDuke, and Patsy Mink, "From Suffrage to the Senate" covers the individuals, organizations, movements, publications, milestones, legislative victories, and court cases that have changed the face of American politics. The in depth coverage also traces the political heritage of the abolition, labor, suffrage, temperance, and reproductive rights movements.