Guides: Medical Entrepreneurship: Grant Funding

SPIN Plus through PennERA

SPIN is a web-based system available through PennERA (Penn's Electronic Research Administration) portal. SPIN includes two modules:

SPIN Searchable funding opportunities database that includes national and international government and private (foundations, associations and corporations) funding sources.
SMARTS Investigator Funding Alert System which matches investigator profile information with SPIN. Matches occur on a daily basis, and opportunities are emailed to researchers.

Access SPIN and SMARTS here and then authenticate using PennKey and password. Choose Find Funding from the top of page.

Foundation Directory Online
Grantseeking research tool which provides access to the Foundation Center's comprehensive database of 80,000 grantmakers and half a million grants. Includes detailed information on grantmakers, companies, grants, and grant recipients, as well as access to grantmaker web sites and searchable 990s.
Guidestar Pro
Guidestar's nonprofit information includes profiles of foundations and philanthropic organizations that provide grants.
Grants to Individuals Online

Grant Advisor Plus
Information on grant, research, and fellowship opportunities for U.S. institutions of higher education and their faculty. Click on "Subscriber Pages" to search.
NOTE: only available through Penn IP addresses.
more...less...
The Database Search allows you to enter your own search criteria (such as funding agency, keywords, academic division, and more). Results are displayed in the same table format as the Deadline Memo Hyperlinks. The Article Search allows keyword searching through hundreds of abstracts and Federal Register articles.
Grants.gov
Single access point for information on over 1,000 grant programs and approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

NIH RePORTER
NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool Expenditures and Results

Use these resources to find more information about the open access policies of individual funding agencies.

NIH Public Access Policy
Guidance on journal policies, submission methods and citing PMCIDs.
SHERPA JULIET
Summaries of funding agencies' open-access and data-sharing policies.

Additional resources to locate information on potential grants and requests for proposals.