Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BrowZine and Alerting Services
BrowZine provides an easy browsing option for discovering Penn Libraries scholarly journal content. BrowZine pulls together articles from library subscription databases, joins them into complete issues, and displays them in a “newsstand” view.
Use the web version of Browzine or download the BrowZine app. Then, to connect, select University of Pennsylvania from the drop down list and enter your PennKey credentials when prompted. Learn more
Higher Education Publications
Create an account in 'New Refworks'. Click on 'Create an Account' and enter your Penn e-mail. Within RefWorks, you can create folders for different people or topics. You can generate a bibliography by checking the articles you want to cite and clicking on the quote mark. Many of our databases effortlessly export to RefWorks.
Searching the Franklin Catalog
Set the drop-down menu to Journal Title Keyword to enter the name of a newspaper or journal (e.g. wall street journal). This is the most comprehensive search through the library's subscriptions and the best way to check to see if we have access to a certain newspaper or journal.
You can also run an Advanced Search through the Franklin catalog to pick up new books by Penn authors or other criteria of interest. For example, see my search here for all books tagged as University of Pennsylvania Press, published from 2020 on.
A broad, basic search for articles. Enter keywords from title, author name, etc to search through holdings from some, but not all, publishers.
PennText Article Finder
Use the PennText Article Finder when you have an article's citation information (journal title, article title, date, author).
Personal account access to the WSJ.com website and mobile app access.
The library's subscription to FT.com requires you to register for an account with your Penn email address.
Current and historical news from thousands of publications worldwide in over 20 languages. Company overviews and stock data are available for public companies.
Covers newspapers and magazines from more than 120 countries in more than 60 languages.
Nexis Uni (NYT & much more)
Access to full-text national and international newspapers , including the New York Times, and the Times of London business and accounting information, biographical data, and some selected legal materials. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Among the document sources included are the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law, state codes and case law, and U.S. patents.
Note that many Congressional publications including bills and laws, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register and campaign finance and voting record data which were previously available in LEXIS/NEXIS are now accessible through a companion database, Congressional Universe.
University of Pennsylvania News Resources
The Pennsylvania Gazette
The Pennsylvania Gazette is the University of Pennsylvania’s alumni magazine. The Archives go back to 1997.
The Daily Pennsylvanian
The Daily Pennsylvanian is the University of Pennsylvania's independent student news organization. The Archive includes issues back to 1885.
University of Pennsylvania Almanac
Official newsletter for University announcements. Past issues go back to 1954.
Trade, Academic & News Articles
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Assistant Director, Lippincott Library