Useful apps for Cinema & Media Studies
● IMDb, the Internet Movie Database, for filmographies, casts, credits, showtimes, reviews, and watchlists for film and TV.
● Letterboxd, a social network for film people with watchlists and reviews.
Not available to stream? It happens.
Search for the DVD in Van Pelt
Don't forget, DVDs can offer bonus essays, booklets, interviews, and extra content.
Check out up to 10 DVDs at once!
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia covers topics like production, national cinemas, studios, genres, theory and film history. A-Z index, short bios, and further recommended sources.
Oxford Dictionary of Film Studies
Defines terms and concepts in film theory and criticism, film movements and genres, film industry organizations, practices and technical terms.
Hollywood, Moral Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 - MPAA Production Code Administration Files covering self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Flinders MPPDA Digital Archive - Database of a subset of the MPPDA Files, 1922-1939, assembled as a project of Flinders University, Australia, and the Australian Research Council.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive - Covers Variety (1905-2000) and consumer and fan magazines such as Picturegoer (1911-1960) and American Film (1975-1992).
Moving Picture World - An influential early trade journal for the American film industry
Media History Digital Library - Archive of classic media publications covering the histories of film, broadcasting and sound. Features both film industry papers and fan magazines.
Sight & Sound Digital Archive
Sight & Sound is the international film magazine published by the British Film Institute (BFI) since 1932, film commentary and criticism. Archive includes annual volumes of Monthly Film Bulletin (MFB) (1934-1991).