Sources for Modern and Contemporary China and Taiwan

PressReader includes the following Simplified Chinese newspapers:
National Business Daily
Jiefang Daily
United Times
Shanghai Newspaper of Traditional Chinese medicine
China Business News
Collected Literary Writings

ChinaLawInfo (北大法律信息网) is a comprehensive online resource offering access to Chinese law from the central to local levels, starting from 1949. Laws and regulations, judicial cases, court judgments, treaties, foreign and international laws, arbitration awards, interpretations, commentaries, and more are brought together in this powerful database. Special sections deal with tax law, World Trade Organization treaties, and other areas of specialized interest, while the “Annotated Chinese Laws” section helps users understand the context and meaning of more than 100 Chinese laws, annotated article by article. Related laws, regulations, cases, and law review articles are hyperlinked together, to give further context to users.

LawInfoChina offers high-quality English-language translations of key Chinese legal documents. Laws and regulations, judicial cases, tax treaties, government issued law gazettes, legal news, and policy (white) papers are brought together in a powerful database specifically tailored to the needs of global organizations and researchers who need to understand the Chinese legal landscape but cannot conduct research in Chinese. The database also includes access to the monthly legal periodical China Law, the Law Yearbook of China, and the English edition of the Peking University Law Review. Translations are completed by the Institute for Legal Translation Studies (ILTS) of Peking University, China’s first institute dedicated to the research and practice of legal translation.

Database of National People's Congress (NPC) is a comprehensive collection of archives and documents of the National People’s Congress, from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to present at both central and provincial levels. The National People's Congress is the highest organ of state power of the People's Republic of China. The collection includes: Member Lists, Agendas, Conference Updates, Documents and Reports, Resolutions and Statements, Leaders’ Activities, Selected Proposals of of Members, News Reports, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Video Reports, etc. With complete, full-spectrum contents, it’s an authoritative database of NPC agendas, topics, resolutions and related reports.

The Eastern Miscellany online database presents the complete archive of one of the most significant publications of the Chinese intelligentsia in the first half of the twentieth century and a significant chronicle of Republican-era China in superbly produced full-image and full-text format with rich indexing. The Eastern Miscellany, as it is known in English, and formally entitled Dongfang zazhi (東方雜誌), was published by The Commercial Press [上海商務印書館], one of the most venerated academic publishers in China, from 1904-1948—a period that predates and entirely covers China’s Republican era (1912-1948). This coincides with a period of extraordinary transition in Chinese society, from the collapse of the Qing Dynasty and two millennia of Imperial China, through periods of warlord rule, Japanese invasion, the Second World War, communist revolution, and the formation of today’s People’s Republic of China.

There are a few options to choose from in this database, the one in question is on the left hand side of the page.