Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find articles in the Penn Library's electronic & print collections
Databases by Title and Subject
Browse the complete list of databases by title or subject. If you are accessing the page from off-campus, you will need to enter your PennKey and password.
If an article is not available at/through Penn Libraries
Latin American Databases
Hispanic American Periodicals Index HAPI
Covers Latin America and U.S. Latinos in all areas of the humanities and social sciences. HAPI cites articles published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish from over four hundred journals. 1970 to the present.
!Informe! (Revistas en Espanol)
Full text and, in many cases, with illustrations, of over 160 Spanish-language and U.S. Hispanic magazines, newspapers and journals. The publications come from the United States, Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and other nations of Spanish America. Coverage for most publications begins in the mid or late 1990s.
Redalyc is a fulltext journal project in the social sciences created by members of the Facultad de Ciencias Politicas y Administracion Publica de la Universidad Autonoma de Estado de Mexico.
SciELO is a free, fulltext database created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries. Established in Brazil in 1997, there are now 14 countries (all but two in Latin America) in the network.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of works on Latin America selected by scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Includes books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, and other media.
1935 to the present.
Celso Furtado with Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva (Wikimedia Commons)
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Periodicals Index Online
Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Lázaro Cárdenas nacionaliza ferrocarriles, 1937 (Wikimedia Commons)
Business resources in the region
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
America: History and Life
History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. 1964-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)
Political science, international relations and comparative politics from more than 1500 monitored journals, nearly two-thirds published outside the United States, and approximately 500,000 records beginning in 1975. Most are either full text or have links to full text.
Indexing since 1915 of contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide.Materials journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and Internet material. There is some full text, plus links via PennText.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science, with the support and assistance of International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals.
Coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, and product development, including complete runs of key business and management journals.
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
Two library catalogs (with journal article records) in one database, covering all subdisciplines of anthropology, ethnography, and archaeology: lots of duplication that forgives careless searching!
MLA International Bibliography
The major database covering literature and languages. Journal articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.