Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating journals and publishers
Whether you are an emerging researcher, or exploring interdisciplinary or unfamiliar disciplines, identifying the best journal for your scholarship can be challenging. Established researchers looking for new channels to disseminate their findings might also be interested in identifying subject specific, often niche, journals for their work. A number of publishers and associations have developed online tools for comparative analysis of author-submitted abstracts using a variety of text-matching and recognition algorithms. A number of these services are linked below. Contact your subject librarian if you need assistance in identifying a journal matching site suitable to your field of research.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ vets open access journals and provides clear information about scholarly and peer-reviewed status. The collection is multi-disciplinary.
Edanz Journal Selector
The Edanz journal selection tool compares your abstract to more than 12 million articles in over 28,000 journals from across the disciplines to suggest target journals. The platform provides detailed information about each journal.
Elsevier Journal Finder
Suggested matches are limited to content published in Elsevier scientific journals. The content you submit might not be confidential.
If you use the EndNote citations management software, use the "match" function to enter your title and abstract to see matching journals, impact factors, and related articles. You must be able to sign into EndNote.
Journal/Author Name Estimator (Jane)
Free, confidential website compares user-generated text such as abstracts and introductions to articles indexed through Pubmed and suggests matching journals, authors, and articles.
Multidisciplinary article matching service with mixed results.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information about journals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography, including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Focus on literature, cinema, linguistics, and folklore
Springer Journal Finder
Finds matches in Springer's multidisciplinary collection of journals. Enter a title and abstract. You can also select a subject area. Content you submit might not be confidential.
Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 journals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, subscription and openly accessible, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
You may also want to review these resources--which can lead you to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in your discipline.
Think. Check. Submit.
This site provides guidance for researchers who seek to identify trusted journals and publishers in which to publish their scholarship--whether as monographs, book chapters, or journal articles. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative of not-for-profit organizations, aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.