Guides: Psychology Funding: Home

The grant application writer's workbook. National Science Foundation, FastLane version by Stephen W. Russell
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. R853.P75 .R871 2017
Publication Date: 2017
How to Write a Research Grant Proposal - and Succeed by Gerard M. Crawley; Eoin O'Sullivan
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781783267590
Publication Date: 2016
Writing Successful Grant Proposals from the Top down and Bottom Up by Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781412999281
Publication Date: 2014
How to Write a Competitive R01 Grant by Sudhansu K. Dey; Katie Gerhardt
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9783319413600
Publication Date: 2016
Grant Writing for Dummies by Beverly A. Browning
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 1118856554
Publication Date: 2014
Successful Grant Writing by Laura N. Gitlin
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 0826101038
Publication Date: 2014
Having Success with NSF by Ping Li; Karen Marrongelle
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. Q180.U5 L486 2013.
ISBN: 1118013980
Publication Date: 2013

SPIN Plus through PennERA

SPIN Plus is a web-based system available through PennERA (Penn's Electronic Research Administration) portal. SPIN Plus includes three components:

SPIN Searchable funding opportunities database that includes national and international government and private (foundations, associations and corporations) funding sources.
GENIUS Global WWW network and database of investigator profiles of scientific and scholarly expertise.
SMARTS Investigator Funding Alert System which matches investigator profile information with SPIN. Matches occur on a daily basis, and opportunities are emailed to researchers.

To access SPIN Plus, go to PennERA and click on Logon to PennERA to authenticate using PennKey and password. Choose Find Funding from the top of page.

Additional Funding Searches

Foundation Directory Online
Grantseeking research tool which provides access to the Foundation Center's comprehensive database of 80,000 grantmakers and half a million grants. Includes detailed information on grantmakers, companies, grants, and grant recipients, as well as access to grantmaker web sites and searchable 990s.

American Psychological Association - Grants, Awards, and Funding
Find research funding, scholarships, honors and awards from APA and other psychology-related organizations.
National Science Foundation- Social, Behavioral & Economic Science Funding
Active funding opportunities through NSF
Grant Advisor Plus
Information on grant, research, and fellowship opportunities for U.S. institutions of higher education and their faculty. Click on "Subscriber Pages" to search.
NOTE: only available through Penn IP addresses.
more...less...
The Database Search allows you to enter your own search criteria (such as funding agency, keywords, academic division, and more). Results are displayed in the same table format as the Deadline Memo Hyperlinks. The Article Search allows keyword searching through hundreds of abstracts and Federal Register articles.
Grants.gov
Single access point for information on over 1,000 grant programs and approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

NIH RePORTER
NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool Expenditures and Results

Funding Agency Open Access Policies

Use these resources to find more information about the open access policies of individual funding agencies.

NIH Public Access Policy
Guidance on journal policies, submission methods and citing PMCIDs.
SHERPA JULIET
Summaries of funding agencies' open-access and data-sharing policies.