Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section lists selective lists of LGBTQ literature to guide readers in choosing what to read often providing plot summaries.
The Cambridge companion to American gay and lesbian literature by
Publication Date: 2015
This Companion examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in US-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. This Companion also addresses the ways in which queerness pervades persons, texts, bodies, and reading, while paying attention to the transnational component of such literatures. In so doing, it details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States.
Guide to gay and lesbian writing in Australia by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. PR9614.5.G38 H87 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Covers authors, journals and magazines, themes, theater groups, etc. Often includes references to reviews.
Historical dictionary of lesbian literature by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. PN491.3 .M55 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Mostly brief biographies with some thematic content. Includes a chronology, and a very useful introductory bibliography to the study of lesbian literature.
Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered literature : a genre guide by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. PS153.G38 B67 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Introduction;History of gay and lesbian literature;
Collection development and readers' advisory;Classics;General fiction;Coming out; HIV/AIDS and other health issues;Historical fiction;
Romance;Fantasy;Science fiction;Horror fiction;
Mystery and crime;Comics and graphic novels;Drama
Life stories : biography, autobiography, and memoirs.
Meant to help those
Representing the rainbow in young adult literature : LGBTQ+ content since 1969 by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PS374.H63 J48 2018.
Publication Date: 2018
A survey of LGBTQ+ literature. Young adult literature in the pre-stonewall era;Young adult literature of the 1970s Young adult literature of the 1980s ;Young adult literature of the 1990s A new literature for a new century ;Young adult literature since 2010 ; Breaking down the barriers. Bisexual inclusion in young adult fiction ; Transgender and intersex inclusion in young adult literature ; Comics and graphic novels with LGBTQ+ content ; Desperately seeking information : young adult nonfiction with LGBTQ+ content.
Gay American novels, 1870-1970 : a reader's guide by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. PS153.G38 G86 2016
Publication Date: 2016
"Examining the development of gay American fiction and providing an essential reading list, this literary survey covers 257 works--novels, novellas, a graphic story cycle and a narrative poem--in which gay and bisexual male characters play a major role. Iconic works are included along with titles not given attention by earlier surveys"
Gay Novels of Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth, 1881-1981 : a reader's guide by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. PR830.G34 G86 2014
Publication Date: 2014
“Arranged chronologically from the appearance of the first gay protagonist to works from the onset of the AIDS epidemic, in-depth entries discuss each book's publication history, plot and significance, along with a brief biography of its author. Including iconic works, this volume enlarges our understanding of the development of gay fiction and provides an essential reading list"
LGBTQAI+ books for children and teens : providing a window for all by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. HQ73 .D677 2018. ; Van Pelt Library. HQ73 .D677 2018.
Publication Date: 2018
"There is a rich and varied body of literature for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning, asexual/allied and intersexed young people, which can function as a mirror for LGBTQAI+ individuals and as a window for others. This resource for librarians who work with children and teens not only surveys the best in LGBTQAI+ lit but, just as importantly, offers guidance on how to share it in ways that encourage understanding and acceptance among parents, school administrators, and the wider community. Helping to fill a gap in serving this population, this guide discusses the path to marriage equality, how LGBTQAI+ terms have changed, and reasons to share LGBTQAI+ literature with all children; presents annotated entries for a cross-section of the best LGBTQAI+ lit and nonfiction for young children, middle year students, and teens, with discussion questions and tips; offers advice on sensitive issues such as starting conversations with young people, outreach to stakeholders, and dealing with objections and censorship head on; and ideas for programming and marketing. This resource gives school librarians, children's, and YA librarians the guidance and tools they need to confidently share these books with the patrons they support."
The gay and lesbian literary heritage : a reader's companion to the writers and their works, from antiquity to the present by
Publication Date: 2013
Online. The revised edition of The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage is a reader's companion to this impressive body of work. It provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian authors in world literature; and briefer treatments of other topics and figures important in appreciating the rich and varied gay and lesbian literary traditions. Included are nearly 400 alphabetically arranged articles by more than 175 scholars from around the world.
LGBTQ Literary Award Lists
Lambda Literary Awards
Annual awards for works of biography, nonfiction, fiction, fiction, drama, graphic novels, erotica, sci-fi, children's/young adult, and other genres on LGBTQ topics.
Stonewall Book Awards
A series of awards sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table.
Publishing Triangle Awards
Annual awards for gay nonfiction, lesbian nonfiction, lesbian poetry, gay poetry; debut fiction, trans and gender-variant literature, and LGBTQ fiction.