Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LGBTQ Author Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
This section lists biographical dictionaries primarily.
Who's who in lesbian and gay writing by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks. HQ75.13 .G75 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Lengthy entries on several hundred authors. Includes authors whose writings have lesbian and gay contents whether or not they were lesbian or gay.
The Gay & lesbian literary companion by
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. PN56.H57 G362 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Includes material on 45 writers, including biographies, critical essays, and literary selections.
The gay and lesbian literary heritage : a reader's companion to the writers and their works, from antiquity to the present by
Publication Date: 2013
The revised edition of The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage is a reader's companion to this impressive body of work. It provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian authors in world literature; and briefer treatments of other topics and figures important in appreciating the rich and varied gay and lesbian literary traditions. Included are nearly 400 alphabetically arranged articles by more than 175 scholars from around the world.
General LGBTQ Encyclopedias
Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: HQ75.15 .S24 2016
Roughly 400 entries. Multidisciplinary but the focus is social sciences. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic. Also online
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movement
Online dictionary. Most entries are a paragraph of two long. There is extensive bibliography that serves as an introductory reading list for LGBTQ Studies.
LGBTQ stats : lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people by the numbers
Van Pelt Library
Call no.: HQ76.3.U5 D47 2017
"LGBTQ Stats chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing the critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities. A chapter on LGBTQ life around the globe contrasts the dramatic progress for LGBTQ people in the United States with violent backlash in countries such as Russia, Iran, and Nigeria, which have discriminatory laws that make same-sex activity punishable by prison or death"--Publisher.
Lgbt, encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
includes more than 500 entry subjects. A wide spectrum of subject areas is covered: people; politics; culture and the arts; academic disciplines and fields; identities, communities, and cultures; geographical locations; law and public policy; economics and labor; sex, sexuality, intimacy, and relationships; religion and spirituality; language, symbols, signs, and concepts; social life, issues, and institutions; and social, cultural, and political processes. Entries run from 1-8 pages.
Queers in history [electronic resource] : the comprehensive encyclopedia of historical gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgenders
"Queers in History is the first comprehensive biographical compendium of important historical and contemporary figures who were/are gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender. From Egyptian pharaohs, Catholic popes and Abraham Lincoln to Bishop Gene Robinson, Neil Patrick Harris and Angelina Jolie, Queers in History brings these figures, from their work to their sexuality, to life." "The hundreds of people whose stories appear in this book are some of the most intriguing personalities of their times: actors and actresses, writers and musicians, businessmen and politicians, scientists and soldiers. But this encyclopedia, intended for gays and straights alike, doesn't just report those details that get left out of the standard biographies; it reveals a fascinating picture of queer society and culture throughout recorded history, from the homosexual traditions practiced by samurai in Japan to the modern struggles for equal rights in America."--BOOK JACKET.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: HQ76 .G724 2010
Primarily aimed at lower-division undergraduates over 70 countries are covered. Three volumes
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures [electronic resource]. by
Publication Date: 2005
Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this Encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours. While gays and lesbians have shared many aspects of life, their histories and cultures developed in profoundly different ways. To reflect this crucial fact, the Encyclopedia has been prepared in two separate volumes assuring that both histories receive full, unbiased attention and that a broad range
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture by
Call Number: an Pelt Reference - Stacks. HQ75.13 .P76 2008.
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
During the 20th century through today, gay and lesbian artists, writers, political activists, and sports figures contributed their talents to all areas of popular culture. Authors such as E. Lynn Harris and Patricia Highsmith write bestselling novels. Rupert Everett follows in the footsteps of Rock Hudson and others who starred in multimillion dollar films. George Michael and k.d.lang have been the creative forces behind dozens of hit songs, and the TV programs of Ellen DeGeneres, Rosie O'Donnell, and the cast of Queer Eye for the Straight Guy are enjoyed in gay and straight households alike. The Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture identifies the people, films, TV shows, literature, and sports figures that have made significant contributions to both gay and lesbian popular culture, and American popular culture.