This guide provides information about the Penn Reading Project book and its author, including videostream author interviews and also book reviews in the popular press and in scholarly journals. It presents suggestions for finding print books (when you're on campus!), ebooks (even when you're off campus), and scholarly journal articles on the Penn Reading Project book's topic. The guide also presents popular accounts of Big Data analytic research by Penn faculty.
The 
icon identifies Penn Libraries electronic resources - databases, e-books, e-journal articles, and more - that require PennKey authentication to access. For more information on PennKey and its use by the Penn Libraries, please consult our online guide, Using Electronic Resources : Access to Electronic Resources (On and Off Campus / EZproxy).
Weapons of math destruction by ebook versions. New Yorker 92, 32 (October 10, 2016): 38. Wall Street Journal (October 15, 2016): A2. New York Times Book Review (October 16, 2016): 26. Financial Times (October 31, 2016): 10. New York Review of Books 63, 20 (December 22, 2016): 32-34. American Prospect 28, 1 (Winter 2017): 109-111. Fulltext for these book reviews is linked through Franklin Articles+, the Penn Libraries' basic tool for locating online journal articles. SAGE Handbook of online research methods / Nigel Fielding et al., eds. SAGE, 2017. Project Planner : Data collection. SAGE Research Methods, 2017. International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences. 2nd ed. Elsevier, 2015. pp. 606-613.These articles will summarize the current state of research on a topic and will identify emerging research fronts. They typically offer long bibliographies, useful for identifying important or controversial articles and books.
Annual Review of Sociology 43 (2017): 19-39. Annual Review of Anthropology 46 (2017): 261-278. Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences. 2016. Sociology Compass 10, 12 (December 2016): 1131-1140.Franklin Catalog identifies books, journals, videos, and sound recordings - in print and electronic formats - available for you to read.
Penn Libraries books similar to Weapons of math destruction.
How does that search work?
Franklin Catalog uses Library of Congress subject headings and subject heading subdivisions to describe books, videos, and audio recordings.
Several subject headings describe the topics covered by Weapons of math destruction:
| Big data | Data processing |
| Computer algorithms | Social indicators |
| Data mining | Web usage mining |
Combine those subject headings with these "aspect" subdivisions that emphasize narrow social or philosophical coverage :
| Anthropological aspects | Psychological aspects |
| Economic aspects | Social aspects |
| Moral and ethical aspects | Sociological aspects |
| Political aspects |
And here's the resulting Franklin Catalog keyword expert search:
These bibliographic databases will identify articles in scholarly journals. Each database specializes in a general subject area or discipline: you'll see duplication and overlap across the databases, but start with the database that meets your general interest.
HINT! Some databases will provide fulltext. If you don't see a prompt for fulltext, then look for the 
link for PennKey-protected access to fulltext.
A database covering contemporary public affairs worldwide, describing journal articles, research reports, and government documents. "Contemporary" means PAIS items from the 1920s will be about the 1920s, from the 1960s about the 1960s, and recent items will be about recent issues. This search retrieves journal articles using these subject term clusters: A good general index for anthropology, sociology, economics, and political science research. This search retrieves scholarly articles: This database indexes and provides lots of fulltext for scholarly journals, trade magazines, and newsletters for business and management research. This search retrieves scholarly journal articles: The general engineering and computer science database. This search retrieves journal articles using these subject term clusters: Washington Post (March 9, 1982): C1, C15. Psychological Science 26, 2 (February 2015): 159-169. Annual Review of Criminology 1 (2018): 401-419.