Skip to Main Content
Go to Penn Libraries homepage   Go to Guides homepage

HSPV Summer Institute

Guide to research at Fisher Fine Arts Library for new HSPV students

China

China Data Online Statistical and economic information from China. It provides: monthly and yearly reports on China’s macroeconomic development, statistical databases on China’s population and economy at the county and city level, financial indicators of industries, statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, an atlas of China
 
China Dimensions GIS data for China maintained by the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) of the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN).
 
China Geo Explorer II Demographic and business information for mainland China, including provinces, prefecture cities, Counties, and townships. Can do online spatial analysis, mapping, and export data in charts, tables, or GIS format.
 
Harvard China Data Center Links and GIS data provided by Harvard
 
Bejing City Lab The Beijing City Lab (BCL) is a research network, dedicated to studying, but not limited to, China’s capital Beijing.

Germany

Federal Election Commission  Election results for parliamentary and European elections.
 
Geoportal Search tool for German spatial data. Includes thematic maps and aerial photographs.

Yemen

Yemen Ministry of Public Health & Population Shapefiles include administrative boundaries, road network, wadies, villages, and health facilities as well as surveys of the health facilities.

Brasil

Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatística  Topographic, political, and natural resource maps. Format varies by map and includes .pdf, shapefile, CAD, and .tiff.

Canada

Atlas of Canada A dynamic and comprehensive collection of maps and related information about Canada with effective and intuitive tools for users to access them.
 
British Columbia Ministry of Energy and Mines Facilitates easy access to the maps and databases of the British Columbian Ministry of Energy and Mines.
 
Canadian Soil Information Source Online Mapping Applications: Soil landscapes, plant hardiness zones, ecosystem framework, etc.
 
CTA Transportation Networks CTA maintains geographically-based representations of the North American transportation infrastructure suitable for individual modal or multimodal studies. The major components of this data system are analytic link-node networks designed primarily to support routing, traffic, investment, and reliability applications. However, their geographic bases also allow cartographic applications and the association of auxiliary environmental or economic data that are geolocated.
 
Open Government of Canada After searching the data portal, filter by file format using the options on the right.
 
Geomatics Yukon Environmental, forestry, and mining spatial data and imagery for Yukon
 
Montreal Open Data Data in a variety of formats (in French).
 
National Ecological Framework for Canada The National Ecological Framework for Canada was developed between 1991 and 1999 by the Ecosystems Science Directorate of Environment Canada, and the Center for Land and Biological Resources Research, of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. Maps, GIS data and descriptions are available.
 
Nova Scotia GIS Available from Nova Scotia Natural Resources, this site provides data and maps related to geology and land use.
 
Statistics Canada Statistics Canada, a member of the Industry Portfolio, produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.

Italy

Italian Open Data Thousands of free datasets. You can limit based on format to only view geographic data. In Italian.
 
GeoData@Polimi  Data portal from Politecnico MIlano University.

Mexico

CTA Transportation Networks CTA maintains geographically-based representations of the North American transportation infrastructure suitable for individual modal or multimodal studies. The major components of this data system are analytic link-node networks designed primarily to support routing, traffic, investment, and reliability applications. However, their geographic bases also allow cartographic applications and the association of auxiliary environmental or economic data that are geolocated.
 
U.S. - Mexico Border Environmental Health Initiative Includes a variety of data layers along the border.
 
Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Geografia Mexico's official statistical agency distributes spatial data for a fee, though elevation data is available free of charge with registration.
 
Tijuana River Watershed Data Boundaries, geologic features, soils.

​Georeferenced Population Datasets of Mexico State boundaries, place names, geographic coordinates of urban and metropolitan places, and elevation data for more than 700 urban places, with 1990 census data.
 
Mexico Homicides (2006 – 2011) Geo-referenced yearly data at the municipal level on homicides reported in death certificates from 2006 to 2011. The certificates are issued by local offices of the Attorney General's Office.

Afghanistan

Afghanistan Election Data:  Election data for Afghanistan running from 2004 to present

Australia

Geoscience Australia Free data downloads for Australia, mostly related to topography, geology and the environment. Use the Advanced Search at the top of the screen to indicate the type of data you are seeking.

Australian Electoral Commission Federal Electoral Boundaries data from the Australian Electoral Commission
 
Australian National Pollutant Inventory Data sets related to pollution across Australia.
 
Australian Mines Atlas Mineral resources, mines, and processing centers
 
Australian Bureau of Statistics Data sets from various censuses as well as other data.
 
South Australia Open Data Use the filters on the left side to look for data in a specific format.

Colombia

Geographic Map Data Catalog Reference (City of Bogotá) Contains transportation data, administrative boundaries, parcel data, zoning information and more. In Spanish

France

Geoportail  Aerial photographs and topographic maps hosted by L'Institut géographique national (IGN). In French.

Japan

Statistics Bureau PDF maps created from census data in Japan

Japan Historical GIS  Boundary shapefiles for feudal Japan.

United Kingdom

Public Geodata for the UK  A variety of links maintained by the UK local chapter of OSGEO
 
Atlas of UK Marine Renewable Energy Resources Indicates the distribution of potential regional resources for the future deployment of renewable energy technologies (wind, wave and tidal)

Ordnance Survey Open Data From the Ordnance Survey, the national mapping agency. Includes OS VectorMap™ District (mid-scale buildings, roads, railways), OS Street View® (simplified street level map), and Boundary-Line™ (electoral and administrative boundaries), among others.
 
Office of National Statistics Census Geography Datasets Shapefiles of 2001 and 2011 census boundaries for England and Wales.
 
 
London Datastore Index of open data resources from the Greater London Authority.
3420 Walnut Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
Penn Libraries Home Franklin Home
(215) 898-7555
Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help Penn Libraries Privacy Policy