Overview - Critical Writing Program: Against Empathy - Fall 2019

Background Resources

SAGE Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge social sciences is a digital library. The SAGE Knowledge platform hosts 2,700 titles and includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Each title has a separate entry in Franklin, or go directly to SAGE Knowledge and conduct keyword searches across the entire platform.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

Using Citations to Find Articles

If you have a complete article citation, search Articles+ from the Penn Libraries homepage to find the full text of your article.

No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be in print! Try using the PennText Article Finder as a next step. You can find PennText on the Library homepage.

To find the full-text of an article, enter the journal name into the PennText article finder. A pop-up box will give you options to access the article online, in print, or the option to request through interlibrary loan.

Using Citations to Find Books

If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.

You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.

Other important resources for finding books:

Other Libraries
If the book is in "LIBRA"
Book is not available at the Penn Libraries
Reading Call Numbers - a visual guide from the University of Arizona Libraries

Research Skills Tutorial

Research Skills Trainer
Learn more on searching strategies and how to use the tools in this guide by selecting the “Research Skills Trainer” link.

Why use this guide?

This Critical Writing Program guide will help you to:

Read a citation
Find books and articles using citations and keywords
Choose the best scholarly resources for your topic
Get personalized assistance!

How to Read a Citation

Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.

Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.

Multidiscipline Databases

These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic

Articles+
Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.

Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.

Subject Specific Databases

CINAHL/ Nursing
Authoritative literature coverage of nursing and various allied health disciplines such as occupational therapy and physical therapy.
CogNet
A "central repository for the most current and topical electronic resources" in cognitive science and its six core areas: philosophy of mind, computational intelligence, cognitive psychology, linguistics, neuroscience, and cognitive anthropology.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
PubMed
PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. It covers biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version containing PubMed citations with links to full-text journals to which the Penn Libraries subscribe.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Seacrh for databases by subject
This link will take you into Franklin. Use the filters on the left side of the page, select the Database Subject filter to find the link to the subject database you need.

Keyword Searching

This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:

Keyword search worksheet

Information Literacy Librarian

Carlos Rodriguez

Email Me

Contact:

Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk
Johnson Pavilion

215-898-9610

Chat

PowerNotes

PowerNotes is software that helps you gather and organize research.

Have questions about PowerNotes? Tips, troubleshooting, and tutorials are here: https://www.blog.powernotes.com/help

Still need help? You can use the PowerNotes contact form, or you can contact the Penn Libraries -- be sure to include "PowerNotes" in your question, so it is routed to the correct librarian.

Critical Writing Program: Against Empathy - Fall 2019: Overview