Get a comprehensive view of your particular area of interest through these scholarly handbooks and guides
These resources can help you identify dates, names, additional vocabulary and variant spellings for your research. They can also help you develop a better understanding of your topic or give you ideas for comparisons and contrasts.
- Oxford Companion to ArchaeologyNewest edition published in 2012 at Museum Library reference. This edition also available through Oxford Reference Online Premium
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization ONLINEProvides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects, including articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
- Brill's New PaulyEncyclopedic entries on most aspects of the ancient world.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: ClassicsCurrently more than 35 handbooks with nearly 1,400 articles (chapters) covering as many discrete topics within broad fields within Classical Studies.
- Cambridge CompanionsA little more difficult to navigate than the Oxford Handbooks -- you'll need to browse through titles or do key word searches
- Wiley-Blackwell Companions to the Ancient WorldIndividual volumes on discrete topics, available in print and in some cases electronically. Located on the shelves in Van Pelt or via the Web. Coverage of literature, history, and culture.
Digital Loeb
- Digital LoebDigital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin text.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineLike Loeb, OSEO provides bilingual editions of ancient Greek and Latin authors (but less comprehensive). Follow this link, then scroll down to see link for "only classical authors" then click on "Browse authors."
Africa and Roman Literature
Carthage. Punic stele from Algiers, Musée national des antiquités CC0.1 Public Domain
Use keywords or subject terms to search article databases
These databases will also uncover book chapters along with articles in journals
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to about 119 archaeology journals and 78 classical studies journals. It can be tricky to find just the right articles because it is searching every word in every article in the database. You may want to watch this short video on how to search JSTOR for classical studies.
- L'Annee PhilologiqueThe standard database for research in the broad area of Classical Studies. It indexes the current scholarship from over 1,500 journals and as well as books, edited volumes and conference papers. (Compare with JSTOR). Watch a short video on how to search L'Annee Phil.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online ClassicsAn online resource to academic articles. Focused on multiple aspects of ancient studies including archaeology, history, literature, economics, and more. For a quick tour on how best to use, see this short video.
Carthage Quarter Shekel. The obverse may depict Hannibal . . . the reverse one of his war elephants. Wikimedia Commons used under a CC-By-SA 2.0 license
Keywords and subject terms for searching Franklin, databases, and secondary sources
Search the resources listed in columnes one and two of this guide through combining relevant terms--derived from your reading and discussion. A sample of terms are below. "Subject terms" are taken from the Library of Congress Subject Headings used in library catalogs such as Franklin:
|
Subject terms:
|
Free text or keywords:
|
Research Assistance
Rebecca Stuhr is the librarian specialists for Classical Studies.
You can arrange individual appointments or ask questions by email by contacting Rebecca at stuhrreb @ upenn.edu or click the button just below to find a time that works for you:
Rebecca also has office hours in the Classics Lounge, Cohen Hall 2nd floor: Mondays 1-2 and Thursdays 12:30-1:30. Feel free to drop in any time.
