Expert Searching tips and tricks
- Search Syntax Comparison TableHandy resource comparing field tags, syntax and search operators for the major health sciences databases.
- Students4BestEvidence (website)Cochrane-supported web community for students in various health research fields.
- Searching the Literature: Strategies that matter (article)A nice, short overview of database search techniques
Further Reading
A Guide to Disseminating Your DNP Project by ISBN: 9780826133168Publication Date: 2017-10-01A Guide to Disseminating Your DNP Project provides an effective, proven blueprint that enables students to disseminate their DNP projects. This book describes the process of disseminating the final written assignment, as recommended by the American Academy of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) for graduation from a DNP program.
The DNP Professional : Translating Value from Classroom to Practice by ISBN: 9781630917135Publication Date: 2021A collection of exemplars from DNP-prepared experts across various advanced practice nursing roles and settings.
Scholarly Inquiry and the Dnp Capstone by ISBN: 9780826193889Publication Date: 2013-01-01Advanced nursing practitioners who conduct practice-based studies will welcome this innovative text designed specifically to meet their clinical inquiry and research needs.
- Journal of Doctoral Nursing PracticeBi-annual journal showcasing research and evidence-application projects by DNP-prepared nurses.
Databases & Other Tools
- Holman Biotech Commons Home PageThis web page lists many tools and services available to the health sciences community via the University of Pennsylvania Holman Biotech Commons.
- CINAHL/ Nursing DatabaseThe Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
- PubMed (Penn Proxy Link)Use this link if you don't have a MyNCBI account. It will connect to Penn journal articles automatically!
- Franklin Online Catalog: Penn LibrariesLists records for all books and journals subscribed or formerly subscribed by the Libraries (electronic or print) and dvds & videos
- EmbaseThe world's most comprehensive biomedical literature database. Includes thousands of journals not available in Pubmed, conference abstracts, and detailed drug information
- Ten Lessons Learned on the Road to Earning a DNP (article)Words of wisdom!
Contact a Librarian
- Sherry Morgan, Graduate and Clinical Research Liaison: contact information
- Richard James, Nursing Liaison Librarian: contact information and scheduling link
- Request a Consultation with a Biomedical Librarian
Citation Mangement Tools
- RefworksRefworks is a web-based bibliography and citation manager provided by the Penn Libraries
- ZoteroA free, easy-to-use client software and web application to help you collect, organize, and cite your research sources. Can be configured to harvest full-text articles from Penn Library collections.
- EndNote Basic2 GB of free storage for reference management. The University does not have a site license for EndNote. Individuals and departments may purchase copies from Penn's Computer Connection.