Skip to main content

Fast Full Text

Gain access to Penn resources easily through these online tools.

Configuring EndNote to access Full-text Articles

EndNote can attempt to download PDFs that match the records in your library.  You will need to add some preference settings.

Access the Preference area in your copy of EndNote and add the urls listed below:

  • Select the commands: Edit -> Preferences -> Find Full Text

Open URL Path: https://upenn.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/01UPENN_INST/openurl?

Authenticate with URL: https://proxy.library.upenn.edu/login

To improve full text matching, check the boxes for Web of Science Full Text Links, DOI (Digital Object Identifier) and PubMed LinkOut.

find full text settings menu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If a reference is grouped in Found URL, highlight the citation and then right-click.  Select URL -> Open URL link.  This should open your browser and link to the Library's PennText service.  Here you should find a link to the article PDF if Penn Library subscribes to the journal.  Download the PDF.  Once downloaded click the PDF file and drag it over the corresponding EndNote record.  This should connect the citation to its full publication.

Configuring EndNote to access Full-text Articles

EndNote will attempt to 'find' PDF's that match the records in your library.  You will need to add some preference settings.

Access the Preference area in your copy of EndNote and add the urls listed below:

  • Select the commands: Edit -> Preferences -> Find Full Text

Open URL Path: https://upenn.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/01UPENN_INST/openurl?

Authenticate with URL: https://proxy.library.upenn.edu/login

If EndNote can't find the PDF using the Find Full Text Command, highlight a citation and then right-click.  Select URL -> Open URL link.  This should open your browser and link to the Library's PennText service.  Here you should find a link to the article PDF if Penn Library subscribes to the journal.  Download the PDF.  Once downloaded click the PDF file and drag it over the corresponding EndNote record.  This should connect the two together.
 

Configuring Papers for UPenn

Set Library Proxy & Library Website URL

In order to access our library subscriptions within Papers3 while off campus, you will need to change a preference setting. 

Navigate to "Preferences", then "Access".  Select "University of Pennsylvania" from the "Use Library Proxy" pull-down menu.  Additionally, you can add one of the Penn Library Website URL's for easy access.

Papers3 Access Preference Setting


Scopus Account ID

In order to search Scopus within the Papers program you must enter Penn's Scopus Account ID.  You will only need to do this once.

  • Select the seach icon  Papers3 Search Icon that appears along the top of the Papers3 screen.  You should see "Search Engines" appear in the left-hand pane of the Papers3 screen.
  • Click Scopus and then the gear icon  Papers3 Cog image  that appears in the lower, left-hand corner of the screen. 
  • The Scopus Settings dialog box should prompt you for the Scopus ID.  Enter 22721

 

Papers3 Penn Scopus ID