Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

Fisher Fine Arts Library General Information

Searching the Collection

To locate materials in the collection, use the online library catalog Franklin. The default search will display results in both the library's catalog as well as Articles+, which searches across databases available via Penn Libraries.

For information on rare materials in the Fisher collection and how to view them, consult the guide to the Perkins Rare Book Room.

Fisher Rules

Fisher Fine Arts Library is a no-food zone.  The Guard will check bags upon entry to ensure food is not brought into the library.  Patrons with food may store their meals in a designated cabinet outside of the library.  If patrons are found with food in the library, they will be asked to take it outside of the library.  Security will be called upon to assist if a patron fails to comply.

No Talking on Cell Phones.  The Fisher is a quiet study space and anyone talking on their cell phones in the reading room areas, carrels, stairwells, or stacks, will be asked to leave the library to complete the call. 

Using the Library

General Access

The Fisher Fine Arts Library serves the teaching, research and scholarly activities of the University faculty, students, and staff. Access and borrowing privileges are provided to individuals who hold a valid Penn Card with photograph. Spouses or domestic partners of University employees as well as Courtesy and Alumni borrowers who have the appropriate ID card are also granted library privileges.  Please review Fisher Fine Arts Library rules that apply to all patrons. 

Please note the standard library access policies:

A valid PennCard is required of Penn students, faculty, and staff. Visitors must report to the guard station, sign in, and show valid government or school-issued photo identification that contains an expiration date.  After 6pm and on weekends, only the following patron categories will be admitted:

​- Patrons with valid PennCards
- Patrons with valid Penn Libraries Courtesy Cards with accompanying valid photo identification
- Patrons with Penn Alumni Cards
- Patrons from the following groups:

  • Patrons with Penn Fund Library Alumni Access cards
  • Patrons with institutional identification from HUP, CHOP, Pennsylvania or Presbyterian Hospitals, or a University of Pennsylvania Health System hospital affiliate
  • Patrons from Drexel, Bryn Mawr, Haverford, Swarthmore, or OCLC Shares Partner. A valid id is required.

Visitor Access

The Fisher welcomes the use of its collections, under certain conditions, by scholars, independent researchers, and other individuals or entities not affiliated with the university.  Visitors may access the library Monday through Friday from 9am to 6pm.  They must check in with the guard’s station with a valid photo id. For security purposes, the guard will take a photo of the visitor.   If visitors would like to make arrangements for access on the weekends or in the evenings, of if they plan to work in the Fisher for several days or weeks, they may contact Hannah Bennett, Head of the Fisher Fine Arts Library. Visitors will not be admitted to the Fisher Fine Arts Library during restricted access periods.

Restricted access: Individuals unaffiliated with the university will not have access to Fisher Fine Arts Library during reading and final exam weeks at the end of each semester. During these periods, access is limited to patrons with a valid PennCard, Penn Libraries Courtesy Card with accompanying valid photo identification, Penn Alumni Card, Penn Fund Library Alumni Access card, institutional identification from HUP, CHOP, Pennsylvania or Presbyterian Hospitals, or a University of Pennsylvania Health System hospital affiliate. 

Requesting Items

Need a book that has LIBRA as the location? That's the library storage facility. You can read this guide about requesting items from LIBRA, or consult the Libraries' list of Frequently Asked Questions.

Need a book that's not in Penn Libraries? You can use WorldCat or database information to request from other schools, through BorrowDirect, EZBorrow, or Inter-Library Loan (ILL).

Need a book that's at Penn but designated as rare? Request to view it through your Research Account for Special Collections.

If you would like to suggest a title be added to the Penn Libraries collection, fill out the online Purchase Request form.

The Fisher Fine Arts Library ADA entrance is located opposite the Irvine Hall Parking Lot.  The door is open to the public from 9am to 5pm.  After 5pm, only the Penn Community has Penn ID swipe access into the building through this entrance.  Once through the entrance, patrons make a left down the Durhing wing hallway and follow the hallway to the elevator.  They then take the elevator to the first floor to access the library through its main entrance. For assistance, please call 215-898-8325.