Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Coverage of US and some international newspapers. Current event and business focus. Use the advanced search, natural language (can type in something like germany and greece and euro and debt crisis), select last two years. Results are HTML versions of the articles. Some foreign language newspapers available. Search major newspapers such as New York Times, The Times (London), Zeit-Online, Irish Independent.
New York Times Historical 1851-2016
For more recent NY Times articles use Factiva or Nexis Uni or go directly to nytimes.com
May be slow to load! A full-text online service that provides access to sources of national and international news, business, health and general information. News sources include newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, pictures and web sites. In addition, Dow Jones Factiva provides access to several financial databases. It covers over 32,000 sources in 28 languages from 200 countries. Search by keyword, limit publications to region, limit by date (you will be overwhelmed with results). At bottom of article, click on "related articles" to find similarly themed articles. TO PRIORITIZE FOREIGN PRESS, click on the gear symbol, choose settings, then preferences, and then "Default Factiva News Page."
Publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Search these titles using quotation marks: Search by country or theme. Information on employment, productivity, market/industry structure, company financial tables. Updated biennially.
Finding journal articles
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Indexes articles, books, documents on policy and matters of governmental decision making. Indexes published material from most of the 20th and 21st century.
Academic Search Premier
current magazines as well as scholarly journals. Limit search to the past few years. In many cases, includes PDF of article, or use PENNTEXT button to connect to library resources or interlibrary loan
Broad selection of journals across the humanities, social sciences, and to a lesser extent sciences. Some foreign language publications. Journals covered from volume 1 forward. In many cases does not include most recent three to five years. Use Advanced search. To search words appearing near to each other but not as a phrase use this formula: "euro Greece"~15. This means, find the words euro and Greece when they appear within at least 15 words of each other. (Prevents finding word 1 on page one and word 2 in a foot note or 20 pages later).
Cultural and Literary Sources
Addition Resources--Current and Historical
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s.
America: History and Life
For the view point from the United States...
American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies
An interdisciplinary database covering North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Providing citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, government publications, and more.
Worldcat is the collections catalog of catalogs. Libraries, archives, and collections of most formats including records in this database. Search by genre, keywords, subject headings (in multiple languages), juvenile or nonjuvenile, date, place of publication, and so on. You'll be able to see whether Penn owns the book or item you are searching for, and if not, you can request it through interlibrary loan.
Penn's video collection. Search and sort by multiple aspects of each video.
Finding Books beyond Penn
Find books at other libraries through Penn partnerships with PA libraries, the Ivy Leagues+ consortium, and from across the country. Link to these services here, at individual Franklin (library catalog) records, or through Penntext.
PennText Article Finder
Find the PennText search on the library home pages, or follow this link to fill information about an article you are searching for. Link to PennText directly while searching library databases. The article finder can take you directly to the article, the journal or to the correct database (where you may need to search again). If we don't have it, click on the ILL link on the "SFX" page that Article Finder takes you to.
Contact for Research Assistance
Keywords for searching in Franklin or Article Databases
Ethnic groups -- Government policy -- Germany.
Ethnicity -- Political aspects -- Germany.
Germany -- Ethnic relations.foreign workers
folktales, folk narratives, folklore, fairy tales, myths
Nazi UdSSR Sowjetunion, DDR, GDR
TTIP Transatlantic trade free trade
European Union EU Europäische Union