Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SPIN Plus through PennERA
SPIN Plus is a web-based system available through PennERA (Penn's Electronic Research Administration) portal. SPIN Plus includes three components:
- SPIN Searchable funding opportunities database that includes national and international government and private (foundations, associations and corporations) funding sources.
- GENIUS Global WWW network and database of investigator profiles of scientific and scholarly expertise.
- SMARTS Investigator Funding Alert System which matches investigator profile information with SPIN. Matches occur on a daily basis, and opportunities are emailed to researchers.
To access SPIN Plus, go to PennERA and click on Logon to PennERA to authenticate using PennKey and password. Choose Find Funding from the top of page.
Other Funding Databases
Foundation Directory Online
Search grants funded by foundations in detail, search foundations by area of interest, or research grantmaking organizations.
Grant Advisor Plus
Information on grant, research, and fellowship opportunities for U.S. institutions of higher education and their faculty. Click on "Subscriber Pages" to search.
NOTE: only available through Penn IP addresses.
Single access point for information on over 1,000 grant programs and approximately $500 billion in annual awards.
Searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Users can search for scientific concepts, emerging trends and techniques, or identify specific projects and/or investigators, NIH funding expenditures, and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project.
Funding Agency Open Access Policies
Use these resources to find more information about the open access policies of individual funding agencies.
Funding Guides from Offices at Penn
Further resources to locate information on potential grants and requests for proposals.
Information About Grant Writing