Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Capital Information
Information about a company's culture and HR practices can be found in industry journals, general business magazines and newspapers, which are covered in the resources below. For emerging enterprises, it is often difficult to find a lot of detailed information about these practices, and it is also generally more difficult to find information for companies headquartered outside the U.S.
Combine the directions below for searching for a specific company with copy-and-pasting the following search strategy to find articles that mention human resource practices or company culture:
"corporate profiles" OR "company profiles" OR "corporate structure" OR organizational OR restructur* OR realign* OR reorg* OR "human capital" OR talent OR culture OR "human resource*" OR personnel OR employee OR recruiting OR retention OR selection OR hiring OR benefits OR rewards OR compensation OR wages OR incentives OR training OR vacations OR dismissal OR resignation OR worker OR labor OR motivation OR retirement OR "career development" OR "job enrichment" OR "quality of work life" OR "work environment" OR "job satisfaction" OR "work life balance"
Enter your company's name in the search box and choose Company/Org from the drop-down menu to find articles that focus on that company. When copy-and-pasting the human resource search strategy above, use the ALL (Anywhere Except Full-Text) field.
Business Source Complete
Enter your company's name in the search box and choose CO Company Entity from the drop-down menu to find articles that focus on that company.
Start by clicking on Search-->Search Builder in the black toolbar at the top of the page. Click the blue arrow in the Company field, then search for your company in the box that appears, and click on the name when it appears in the list (it will highlight in orange). Add any additional keywords of interest in the Free Text search box.
Identifying Staff at Your Target Organization
International directory database. Select Contacts from the profile page for your target company to identify potential HR contacts. Hoover's provides basic company profiles for millions of companies, with in depth coverage (company histories, strategies, market positions, major events and other information) of more than 40,000 leading companies by revenue, market share, technology and industry.
International directory database. From the Company Profile page, scroll down to Executives to find contact information for key staff, sometimes including email addresses. International directory of corporate structure of public and private companies, with subsidiary listings and corporate linkage information on more than 170,000 parent companies and their affiliates.
Anonymous employee reviews, often including the reviewer's perceptions about benefits, advancement opportunities, etc.
Available through the Career Services Reference Library. Includes industry and company information.