Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will lead you to some of the many databases and resources we have on hand for Professor Riis' MKTG 211/711 class. You'll be able to search for research and data on the consumers of your chosen market, as well as industry overviews and competitor analysis. We also have articles from leading publications in marketing and consumer research - which you can browse by journal, or search within a larger database. Please contact me with any questions or if you'd like any additional assistance with your searches!
Both of the databases below employ the asterisk (*) as a truncation symbol -- telling the database to search off the root term to find variants. For example, child* will pull articles that include child, child's, children, etc. Quotes will combine terms into phrases, e.g. "market research".
Business Source Complete
This database collects articles & article information from thousands of journals in business. Enter keywords like:
"consumer behavior" and smartphones
This database works similarly to Business Source Complete, but covers a different pool of journals. You'll want to search in the same way, e.g.
"consumer attitudes" and ecommerce
Focusing on psychology-related literature, which includes consumer behavior and decision-making.
Web of Science
Search for citations from thousands of journals, in business as well as other subject areas. Enter Topic keywords on the main page (like "consumer behavior" and luxury) to track down relevant cites, which you can then sort by Times Cited (highest to lowest) to find the most influential articles on that subject.
Research Impact and Citation Analysis
Use this research guide to learn more about the impact factors of journals and the various metrics that can help determine the influence of authors.
Need articles or book chapters? As Wharton students, you have access to some services from Lippincott Library's Document Delivery department. As you search for articles for this paper, take note of any citations that don't have immediate PDF or HTML Full-text access available. Email those cites directly to us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we'll track them down for you ASAP. You'll get an email response from us with either a scanned PDF, or that we've requested it from another library on your behalf.
Business Research Librarian
Within the Penn Libraries' collection: