Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Penn Medicine Patient Resources
Non-English Language Sites
State of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Health Sites
Health Insurance Marketplace - HealthCare.gov
Top Useful Sites
The Medical Library Association finds the following web sites particularly useful (sites are listed in alphabetical, NOT ranked, order)
National Cancer Institute (NCI) resource site. General information available by type of cancer. The site includes contact information, plus offers 'live' online chat help.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC's primary online communication channel. Provides health information on: data & statistics, diseases/conditions, emergencies & disasters, travelers' health, and much more.
"Operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians. All of the information on this site has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP."
"A government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy."
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
"Produced in collaboration with the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center and other components of the UCSF AIDS Research Institute. HIV InSite's mission is to be a source for comprehensive, in-depth HIV/AIDS information and knowledge."
Kaiser Family Foundation
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
"KidsHealth provides families with perspective, advice, and comfort about a wide range of physical, emotional, and behavioral issues that affect children and teens."
"Find information on hundreds of conditions. Check your symptoms. Improve your lifestyle. "
"National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."
Medline Plus Videos and Tools
Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy and body systems, surgical procedures and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes
"NIHSeniorHealth makes aging-related health information easily accessible for family members and friends seeking reliable, easy to understand online health information. This site was developed by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM)"
RAND Health is one of the largest independent health research groups in the world, conducting objective, nonpartisan research and analysis that contributes to health policymaking in the United States and other countries.
Set the Direction with a Community Assessment
A community assessment is basically a description of a community and its people. The purpose is to identify the needs of a community in order to provide services appropriate to those needs. Data collection does not need to be extensive but should be adequate to identify needs and priorities in support of planning decisions. It should take into account some of the cultural, economic and physical conditions that make up the community.
Related Penn Research Guides
Understanding Health Statistics
American Indian Health
This Web resource on American Indian Health, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to bring together health and medical resources pertinent to the American Indian population including policies, consumer health information, and research. Links are provided here to an assortment of documents, Web sites, databases, and other resources.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The mission of the Data Resource Center (DRC) is to take the voices of parents, gathered through the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN), and share the results through this free online resource. Easy access to children's health data allows researchers, policymakers, family advocates and consumers to work together to promote a higher quality health care system for children, youth and families.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including—
Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence
Sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection
Alcohol and other drug use
Unhealthy dietary behaviors
Inadequate physical activity
YRBSS also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma among youth and young adults.
Disability and Health Data System (DHDS)
Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is an interactive state-level disability data tool designed to assist partners, state health departments, national disability and health organizations, policymakers, researchers, educators, and others in the assessment of the health and wellness of people with disabilities. This tool was developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in the Division of Human Development and Disability (DHDD) at the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD).
DHDS provides data on health and demographic indicators using the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), and data on expenditures.
HINTS Health Information National Trends Survey (Cancer Information)
HINTS collects nationally representative data routinely about the American public's use of cancer-related information. The survey:
Provides updates on changing patterns, needs, and information opportunities in health
Identifies changing communications trends and practices
Assesses cancer information access and usage
Provides information about how cancer risks are perceived
Offers a testbed to researchers to test new theories in health communication
Office of Minority Health
The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
Minority Health (CDC)
CDC's Office of Minority Health & Health Equity (OMHHE) Guiding Principle:
Increasing CDC's Impact on Health Equity
The future health of the nation will be determined to a large extent by how effectively we work with communities to eliminate health disparities among those populations experiencing a disproportionate burden of disease, disability, and death.
Persistent health disparities in our country are unacceptable and correctable.
Community Health Status Indicators
The goal of Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) is to provide an overview of key health indicators for local communities and to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health. The CHSI report was designed not only for public health professionals but also for members of the community who are interested in the health of their community.
Immigrant & Refugee Health (CDC)
As a world leader in health promotion and disease prevention, CDC works with immigrant, refugee, and migrant groups to improve their health by:
providing guidelines for disease screening and treatment in the United States and overseas
tracking and reporting disease in these populations
responding to disease outbreaks in the United States and overseas
advising U.S. partners on health care for refugee groups
educating and communicating with immigrant and refugee groups and partners.
Healthy Aging (CDC)
Our materials are designed to assist health professionals in learning about and engaging in activities of CDC's Healthy Aging Program and The Healthy Brain Initiative to promote independence and