Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Companion to Medicine
Covers topics ranging from abortion to zombification and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine. This thrid edition has been completely rewritten and includes a greater emphasis on the history of medicine, its cultural links with the arts and music, and its international nature.
Companion encyclopedia of the history of medicine
edited by W.F. Bynum and Roy Porter.
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, c1993.
2 v. (xxvi, 1806 p.) : ill. ; 24 cm.
Location: Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: R133 .E5 1993
Cambridge World History of Human Disease by
Publication Date: 2008
This volume traces the history of disease and addresses every significant human malady. Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease traces the concept of disease throughout history and in each major world region. It offers the history and geography of each significant human disease--both historical and contemporary--from AIDS to yellow fever, and touches on the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight disease. Accessible to laypeople and specialists alike, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease offers an extraordinary glimpse of what is known about human health as the twenty-first century begins.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference - Stacks Call no.: QP376 .E59 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-26
In the past decade, enormous strides have been made in understanding the human brain. The advent of sophisticated new imaging techniques (e.g. PET, MRI, MEG, etc.) and new behavioral testing procedures have revolutionized our understanding of the brain, and we now know more about the anatomy, functions, and development of this organ than ever before. However, much of this knowledge is scattered across scientific journals and books in a diverse group of specialties: psychology, neuroscience, medicine, etc. The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places all information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article. Lavishly illustrated, the Encyclopedia includes over 1000 figures, many in full color. Managing both breadth and depth, the Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for life science libraries and researchers investigating the human brain.
like Google Books, but supported by contributing research libraries. Texts published before 1923 are in the public domain and freely available for reading and downloading.
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing to the holdings of largest medical library in the late nineteenth century. Now useful for research in the history of medicine, history of science, and also for clinical research. Describes books, journal articles, dissertations, pamphlets, reports, newspaper clippings, case studies, obituary notices, letters, portraits, as well as rare books and manuscripts in many languages, ranging in date from 1400s to 1950.
Periodicals Index Online
Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
MEDLINE (complete file)
Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Ovid Interface
Clinical Rotation Resources: Neurology
This is the resource list for Penn medical staff. On this page you can find Mobile Resource, EBooks, EJournals, Point-of-Care Resources, Primary Resources, featured articles from a high impacted journal, and more.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine ACCESS NOTE: 5 concurrent users
International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history to the present, describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Most citations are in English. Also covers French, German, Italian, and Spanish.