Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Communication & e-Scholarship Guides
Humanities and Social Sciences
Freely accessible Humanities and Social Sciences academic books. Free to read and share.
Knowledge Unlatched is an initiative to create a sustainable route to open-access books. This pilot collection of Humanities and Social Science books are made available under a Creative Commons license through OAPEN. The Penn Libraries are a participant in the Knowledge Unlatched open-access project.
Open Book Publishers (OBP)
All OBP books are peer-reviewed publications in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Publications are free to read online or can be bought in hardback, paperback, PDF, or ebook format. Find Open Book Publishers editions through the Franklin Catalog.
Open Humanities Press
Browse books and journals published under a Creative Commons license and without an embargo. The publications can be read for free online and downloaded; paper copies may also be purchased at a reasonable cost.
Open Library of the Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a gold open access, peer-reviewed, internationally-supported, academic-led, not-for-profit, mega-journal, multi-journal and books platform for the humanities. It is funded by an international library consortium and so has no author-facing charges. Open access refers to peer-reviewed academic research that is available freely to read and re-use online. The Penn Libraries support Open Library of the Humanities. The Journal of British and Irish Innovative Poetry
is the first journal to convert to 100% open access through the support of OLH.
Digital archive of library materials. Ensure that the "Full view only" box is checked when you search.
OpenEdition books (mostly in French with a few hundred English titles and some Spanish and Italian titles) mainly uses the "freemium" model to make publications open access as HTML files. Other titles may only be available as extracts (closed lock icon) or fully open access (open lock icon). Print, ebook, or PDF formats may be available for purchase as well. (You can change the website's language in the upper right hand corner of the webpage).
Open Library has over 1,000,000 classic ebooks which can be read online, downloaded, or sent to your eReader.
Internet Archive - Texts
The Internet Archive contains over 6,000,000 public domain books and manuscripts which can be read online or downloaded.
To search for free ebooks (mostly books in the public domain), enter your search term. Once the search is complete,
- click "Search tools" below the search bar
- Click on "Any books"
- Choose "Free Google eBooks" from the drop down list
Open Access Directory (OAD) - Publishers of OA Books
This extensive list of open access book publishers provides resources for finding books in a variety of fields.
Monographs, collection catalogues, exhibition catalogues, technical studies and analyses, and proceedings published by the Smithsonian Institution Scholarly Press (SISP). See this page
for contributions by area.