Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Communication & e-Scholarship Guides
OA Search Engines
The following search engines search for items under a Creative Commons license, but you must double check the source to ensure that the item has indeed been released under a CC license.
Let's CC is a search engine created by Creative Commons Korea (CC Korea) which allows you to search for images, sounds, videos, and documents that are under a Creative Commons (CC) license
Use the Creative Commons search engine to search other sites for materials with a CC license.
Choose which site you want to search, type in your keyword, and start searching. After you have started your search using the CC Search, you may continue searching from the new site - the filter will stay in place.
The Public Domain Review
The Public Domain Review is an online journal devoted to promoting the public domain and public domain resources. These unique resources are collected from a variety of online archives and displayed on The Public Domain Review's website.
*Note: While the collected materials are public domain, the essays written for The Public Domain Review are under a Creative Commons license. Read the usage policy for more information.
See the newest collections:
View Penn collections, including images, manuscripts, audio, print, exhibits, and more.
Note that not all of the materials may be available for reuse. Check individual collections for more information.
ScholarlyCommons houses openly accessible Penn-created works and research, including text, images, video, and more.
OPenn contains complete sets of high-resolution archival images of cultural heritage material from the collections of its contributing institutions, along with machine-readable descriptive and technical metadata. All materials on OPenn are in the public domain or released under Creative Commons licenses as Free Cultural Works. Please see specific collections and documents for applicable license terms.
Search the Internet Archive for millions of open access videos, live music, audio, texts, and archived web pages (the Way Back Machine).
The OAIster database
(freely accessible through WorldCat) has harvested more than 30 million records from open-archive collections worldwide. Search for texts, audio, videos, images, data sets, more.
Open Culture contains free cultural and educational media (movies, ebooks, textbooks, courses, audio, etc.). Please double check individual records for copyright statements before reuse.
Open Library of Humanities
The Penn Libraries have contributes to the Library Partnership Subsidy System for Open Library of Humanities, which seeks to develop a new model to support the publication of monographs and journals on its platform.
Open Access Network
The Penn Libraries support the Open Access Network, which seeks to provide a "broad and transformative solution for sustainable OA publishing and archiving that is complementary, not competitive, with other OA funding approaches."