Multidisciplinary digitized books. Downloadable? A small percentage of public domain books can be directly downloaded. For other public domain books use the Google Books Downloader program.
Open Library is a project of the Internet Archive. They currently make available 1,000,000 free e-books. They have also started an e-book lending program (one reader at a time) that includes 200,000 mostly 20th century titles. To participate, you'll need to set up an account. University of Pennsylvania Libraries have contributed content to the Internet Archive
Scholarship in the areas of anthropology; archaeology; biology; business and management; classical studies; economics and finance; film, television and radio; history; law; linguistics; literature; mathematics; music; neuroscience; palliative care; philosophy; physics; political science; psychology; public health and epidemiology; religion; social work; society and culture; and sociology.
Multidisciplinary e-books. Downloadable? Some, but not all, can be downloaded in their entirety as PDFs through Adobe Digital Editions. Other books can only be downloaded by chapter or page ranges.
Ted books cost $2.00 a piece and come out at the rate of about 1 a month. Ted has its own reader; Ted e-books also work with Kindle, Nook, and IOS. Topics are across the disciplines
Books from Duke University Press. Downloadable? Using the Ebrary Reader you can "print to PDF" up to 10% of the book or an entire chapter. The PDF is downloadable.
Page images of approximately 100,000 titles from the Short-Title Catalogue of English works 1475-1640, Wing's continuation for 1641-1700, and their revisions. Downloadable? As PDF.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) is a major new publishing initiative from Oxford University Press, providing an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities.
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Downloadable? PDFs by chapter.
Online books and online book series for the hard sciences. You will know that you have access to a book if there is no lock icon to the left of the title. Downloadable? As PDFs by chapter.
Disciplines include conditions for patient education from the American Academy of Family Physicians, general dentistry, pathology, point of care for dentistry, and surgery for dentistry. Downloadable? No.
Books from Duke University Press. Downloadable? Using the Ebrary Reader you can "print to PDF" up to 10% of the book or an entire chapter. The PDF is downloadable.
Fulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) covering agriculture and food, education and skills, emerging economies and transition economies, employment, energy, enterprise, industry, and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economics and future studies, governance, international development, nuclear energy, science and information technology, social issues and migration, statistics sources and methods, taxation, territorial economy, and transport. NOTE: Some of the statistical data tools in SourceOECD require Internet Explorer.
A series of books in the social sciences and humanities that are intended to be shorter than a full length monograph, but more in depth than a journal article. Downloadable? As PDF's or onto EPUB compatible readers.
Frequently used data in science including the periodic table of elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Downloadable? As PDFs.
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Downloadable? PDFs by chapter.
It is always good to use help screens, but here are some things to keep in mind when using commercial e-book platforms such as EBSCOhost.
For the most part we purchase e-books that allow three or more simultaneous users. Sometimes we can only purchase an e-book that allows one reader at a time, and we will do so if we feel the situation justifies this. This can be one dilemma that you may run into when having trouble connecting to an e-book.
Depending on how your browser is set up, you will want to make sure that the preferences in your Adobe Reader allow it to open in the browser. You'll find "preferences" under Edit. Once you are in "preferences" choose "Internet" and make sure the box next to "Display PDF in browser" is checked
Something else you'll want to be sure to do if you are using Firefox: Go to Tools, choose Options from the dropdown menu. Once the Options window opens, choose applications. Scroll down until you see "Portable Document Format (PDF). Click on the words to the right of that. This will turn into a dropdown box, choose "Preview in Firefox." This will make the PDF appear in the e-book reader.
Be sure to let us know if you are having any problems so that we can continue to troubleshoot and talk with our vendors to improve the e-book reading experience.
