It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes over 7,000 albums from the a variety of labels, including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the Middle Ages to the present, including many contemporary composers.
Music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America's past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Labels include Rounder Records, Appleseed Recordings, Stax, Specialty Records, Testament Records, McNeil Music, Native Ground Music, Rebel Records, County Records, Smithsonian Folkways, Document Records, and more.
As of June, 2009, all the music from the former African American Music collection (no longer offered) is now here in American Song. The music of all Americans, including African Americans, is now consolidated in the expanded American Song.
Includes the catalog of the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label as well as the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, and Paredon labels, among others.