Zombie Culture
Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliography: Zombies in cinema and media
Background Information
Encyclopedia covers topics like production, national cinemas, studios, genres, theory and film history. A-Z index, short bios, and further recommended sources.
Oxford Dictionary of Film Studies
Defines terms and concepts in film theory and criticism, film movements and genres, film industry organizations, practices and technical terms.
Books
Better off Dead: The Evolution of the Zombie as Post-Human by ISBN: 0823234479Publication Date: 2011
Video how-to
The Filmmaker's Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide for the Digital Age by ISBN: 1101613807Publication Date: 2012
Scholarly Databases
General Databases
Subject-Specific Databases
- Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
- GenderWatch
- Communication Source - Communication & Media Studies research, including video games
- MLA International Bibliography - Literature research
- ATLA Religion Database - Religious Studies research
- Art & Architecture Complete - Art & Art History research, including Animation
- Anthropology PLUS - Anthropology research
- Sociological Abstracts - Sociology research
- Historical Abstracts - World History research
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database - environmental research
- PubMed Plus - Biomedical and Neuroscience research
- Compendex - Engineering and technology research
- ACM Digital Library - technology, Internet Studies and gaming research
- Hein Online - Law and legal research
- Search for databases by subject
- Franklin Articles+Articles+ searches through many Penn-subscribed journals and brings you results all in one place.
How to Read a Citation
Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.
Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.
Where can I stream it now?
Useful apps for Cinema & Media Studies
- IMDb, the Internet Movie Database, for filmographies, casts, credits, showtimes, reviews, and watchlists for film and TV.
- Letterboxd, a social network for film people with watchlists and reviews.
- JustWatch or ReelGood, streaming search and watchlists.
Not available to stream? It happens.
Search for the DVD in Van Pelt
Search Franklin for films and TV, streaming or as a DVD. Sometimes, even with access to many streaming platforms, for rights reasons, a DVD may be your only option.
Don't forget, DVDs can offer bonus essays, booklets, interviews, and extra content.
Zombie movies
Subject Librarian
Keyword Searching
This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:
Film Index International
- Film Index InternationalA reference work unmatched for films and biographical info about directors, producers, actors and more, made in collaboration with the British Film Institute (BFI). Includes bibliographies that, unlike freely available sites like the Internet Movie Database (IMDb), include scholarly and academic work in Cinema Studies. Entries include citations for original reviews from the time of film's release, and related interview articles. More comprehensive coverage of international films, European, Asian, Latin American, and African than other indexes.
Chat
